World Series of Poker Europe

Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) Rio Day 1 – Carlos Lopez in Front

Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) Rio Day 1 – Carlos Lopez in Front 0001

The first major poker tournament in Brazil has just wrapped up its Day One, as the Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) has come to Rio. 314 players either paid the $2,500 buy in, or won their way in on PokerStars. The players sat down at the Intercontinental Hotel Rio de Janeiro to play some poker and make some history.

A number of familiar faces dotted the tables, as players such as Humberto Brenes, Chris Moneymaker, Gavin Griffin, Isabelle Mercier, Greg Raymer, Vanessa Rousso, and Chad Brown were in the field.

More regionally known players such as Team PokerStars' Andre Akkari, and players including Igor Federal, Sergio and Alessandra Braga, Marcos XT, Sequela, Mojave, Salim, Decano, Fabio Deu_Zebra joined the fight for the top prize of $222,940.

The nice structure provided the players with plenty of play in the first levels, which were fairly uneventful, save for the quad aces made on one of the first hands of play by a player who called himself 'Assassinato'.

Early on in the day, Chris Moneymaker got all his money in the middle with Q-Q, only to run into the aces of a local player named Guedim. The flop brought a set of aces for Guedim, but Moneymaker picked up a straight draw. The river was a miracle 10, giving Moneymaker the straight and keeping him alive in the tourney.

The first Brazilian star eliminated was Leandro Pimentel Brasa, who finished fourth out of 3,151 entrants in a $1,500 no-limit tournament at the WSOP last year. On an eight-high flop, Brasa moved in with two tens, and was called by a player with two jacks. No miracles came for Brasa, who was eliminated from the tournament.

The first team PokerStars player eliminated was Chad Brown, who lost a 'blind against blind' confrontation against Brazilian André Pardal, who flopped the top pair, which held up against Brown, who had a ton of outs having flopped a straight and flush draw.

Humberto Brenes would soon join Chad Brown on the rail, when Brenes' pair of kings lost to an A-K in an all-in pre-flop showdown just before the second break.

One of the most incredible hands of the day involved Chris Moneymaker. The flop come {10-Clubs}{6-Clubs}{4-Clubs}, and Moneymaker became involved in a three way all-in with two Brazilian players. Chris showed {k-Hearts}{k-Spades}, Reinaldo showed a set of sixes, and Renato showed {j-Clubs}{j-Diamonds}. A club on the river gave Renato a flush, eliminating Moneymaker from the tournament.

Two Team PokerStars beauties were eliminated within a short time of each other, as Vanessa Rousso ran Q-T into A-K, and Isabelle Mercier lost a coin flip with J-J to join Vanessa on the rail.

Shortly before the last level of the night, the prize pool for the tournament was announced:

* Figures in Dollars

Total Prize Pool: $ 785,000.00

1 - $ 222,940

2 - $ 117,750

3 - $ 86,350

4 - $ 62,800

5 - $ 47,100

6 - $ 31,400

7 - $ 23,550

8 - $ 15,700

9 - $ 11,775

10-12 - $ 10,205

13-16 - $ 8,635

17-24 - $ 7,065

25-32 - $ 5,495

At the end of the nine levels of play, 103 players made it to day two, and will continue play at 1pm local time today. Carlos Lopez of Spain ended Day One as chip leader, with approximately 121,000 chips. Below are the official chip counts:

Chip Counts entering Day 2:

Name Chips

Carlos Alberto Lopez Neira 121,200

Julien Nuijten 92,750

Cyril Thierry Bernard 84,650

Alex Brenes 77,425

Ronnie M Bardah 69,775

Piragibe Lindolfo Ataide 68,300

Jose Carlos Domingues Latorraca 67,525

Nicolas Ragot 64,325

Paulo Gaspar Marques 58,050

Bruno Cesar Scheffer 57,450

Leonardo Silveira De Castro Pires 55,350

Daniel James Aldridge 55,300

Jonathan Dull 53,725

Michel Alexandre Pereira Marques 52,750

Salim Dahrug 49,000

Victor Ramdin 48,025

Carlos Guilherme De Faria Nadal 46,475

Rodrigo Strong 45,000

Jose Vaughan 44,525

Rafael Pardo 42,475

Eugenio Carmo Neto 42,250

Marcos Felipe Arend 42,025

Gualter Jose Fortuna Salles Santos 41,775

Bruno Da Cunha Junior 41,650

Sumit Kumar 41,050

Bruno Gonzalez 40,150

Farhad Sinaei 38,625

Alberto Victor Bari 38,550

Helio Chreem 38,450

Nikolai Senninger 38,375

Alexander Fitzgerald 38,225

Hermann Debiagi 37,000

Eduardo Henriques David 36,925

Marcelo Valadares De Resende Costa 34,900

Gustavo Kein 34,100

Frank Ewald 33,900

Ricard Fasanaro 33,775

Oliver Sascha Kugler 33,350

Sebastián Eduardo Simonetti 32,825

Tal Atias 32,650

Murilo Dantas 32,250

German Simon Dansker 31,800

Brandon Demes 31,625

Vitaly Kovyazin 31,600

Alessandra Dos Santos 30,425

Alberto Ferreira Da Cunha Neto 30,025

Amritraj Singh 29,850

Rodrigo D Bandeira 29,475

Roman Nevtípil 28,275

Mauro Edison Nomura 28,200

Micha Hoedemaker 27,700

Severin Walser 27,700

Sjoerd Bos 26,900

Eduardo Alfredo Santi 26,800

Jesus Bertoli 24,925

Andrew H Li 24,725

Reinaldo Antonio Da Rocha Silva 24,250

Fernando José Saboya De Albuquerque 23,550

Rafael De Azevedo Marques Endres 23,200

Jeffrey Hakim 23,125

Alexandre Richard 22,425

Jose Severino 20,975

Felipe Steinfeld 20,450

Cinthia Escobar 20,150

Marcio Murilo Da Silva Motta 19,550

Sylvain Taddei 19,150

William Sullivan 19,125

Frederico Morgenroth 18,125

Marcos Grosso 18,000

Armin Mette 17,550

Luiz Edmundo Verie 17,325

Michael Naughton 16,425

Marcos Xavier 16,350

Ivan Marquez 16,300

Juan Carlos Burguillos 15,825

John Daniel Webb 15,525

Andreas Karl Rieger 15,000

Kien Hwee (Goh) 15,000

Carlos Alberto Franca Cunha 14,900

Ricardo Soares Tenorio 14,875

Joao Hermann 14,550

Albertino C Vilela 14,500

Etienne Bargibant 14,475

Rodrigo Rinaldi Balbi 13,800

Jesper Roll W 13,375

Fabio Lomelino Costa Barros 13,250

Jorge Arias 13,175

Artur Roberto Szcsupak 12,775

Petr Brezina 12,425

Hugo Adametes 12,300

Barry O'callaghan 11,650

Luiz Noal Neto 11,450

Mauro Sussan 11,450

Nilson Pascoal Da Silva Junior 10,475

Eduardo Fernandes 10,000

Marcio Gimenes Correa 10,000

Armando Jose Rinaldi Balbi 9,900

Rodrigo Kubitza 9,700

Mario Martinez Do Canto 9,500

Nemesio Carracedo Orueta 8,250

Leandro Guedes Burlamaqui 7,800

Griselda Sonia Coronel 7,125

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories