Live Events 3
Event #38: $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship

JC Tran Leads Final 15 Into Day 3 of the $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship

Brentharrington • Level 20: 12,000-24,000, 0 ante
JC Tran

Day 3 of Event #38: $10,000 Limit Hold’em Championship is set for 2 p.m. Wednesday. JC Tran (1,150,000) leads the final 15 players into the final day and is looking to win his third WSOP bracelet. He will join defending champion Ian Johns (59,000) and the champion once removed, Ben Yu (446,000), both of whom are also seeking their third WSOP bracelets.

Forty-one players returned to start Day 2 and things got contentious pretty quickly. On one of the first hands of the day, Justin Bonomo raised against eventual 18th-place finisher Martin Kabrhel. Kabrhel took about 30 seconds before Bonomo called the clock. This was a carry over from the previous night where Kabrhel was apparently tanking so much that the players today gave him a very short leash.

Throughout the day various players would call the clock and Kabrhel would complain. The cycle repeated itself until Kabrhel was finally eliminated in 18th place. Another theme of the day was Phil Hellmuth losing a hand and complaining out loud to a chorus of laughs from the field. Hellmuth went busto during the final two hours of play and finished in 16th place.

Aside from the two former event champions, the remaining field is stacked. Daniel Negreanu (425,000) is making yet another deep run and looking to close out bracelet number seven. He will have a hard task playing against players who some consider the best in the business. Terrence Chan bagged 831,000 and will be looking to add his first WSOP bracelet to an impressive list of cashes totalling over $700,000 in WSOP winnings.

Former WSOP Main Event Champ Joe McKeehen (84,000) is also in the remaining field and will be looking to add a second WSOP bracelet to his collection.

Here is the seat draw for Day 3:

Table 700SeatPlayerTable 704SeatPlayer
 1Sorel Mizzi 1Empty
 2Tom McCormick 2Ian Johns
 3Shaun Deeb 3Jon Turner
 4Ray Henson 4Empty
 5Empty 5Daniel Negreanu
 6Jared Talarico 6Terrence Chen
 7Aaron Sacks 7Ben Yu
 8Empty 8Robert Campbell
 9Joe McKeehen 9JC Tran

All the action resumes Wednesday at 2 p.m. and you can track the action on PokerNews throughout the rest of this event and the entire World Series of Poker.

Tags: Ben YuDaniel NegreanuIan JohnsJared TalaricoJC TranJoe McKeehenJon TurnerPhil HellmuthRay HensonRobert CampbellShaun DeebSorel MizziTerrence ChanTom McCormick