Back on June 30, 2013, Spain took on Brazil in the FIFA Confederations Cup final. Brazil defeated Spain 3-0 to win, and it was Spain's Gerard Piqué who earned himself a red card for a tackle against FC Barcelona teammate Neymar. Because of the red card, Piqué is suspended for Spain's World Cup qualifier match against Finland that takes place on September 6. That leaves some extra time for Piqué to play some poker, but like in soccer, there are certain rules you must abide by when playing.
In a recent hand, Piqué and one other player got involved in some preflop action where there was a raise and a call. Piqué prematurely exposed his hand to show that he had the , misunderstanding that there was still action pending. It was ruled that the raise and the call would stand, the Piqué had to play the hand from here on out face up on the table.
The flop came down , and both Piqué and his opponent checked. Everyone at the table was laughing while this happened, especially with Piqué's hand simply laying face up in the middle of the table exposed. The turn was the , and both players checked again. Then, the fell on the river and Piqué's opponent bet 7,150, claiming, "No, check this time."
Piqué tanked for a little bit, trying to figure out if his opponent was bluffing him, or value betting and trying to get a call. After all, the player could see Piqué's hand. Eventually, Piqué made the call with the queens, and his opponent showed the for a weaker two pair. Piqué was awarded the pot, but he was also awarded with something else a little less rewarding.
The floor had watched the hand play out, and promptly informed Piqué that he had to serve a two-hand penalty for prematurely exposing his hand with action still to be played.