Now Live EPT Barcelona

PokerNews is proud to serve as the official live coverage partners of the World Series of Poker. As the primary source of information and news for the WSOP, PokerNews strives to provide the audience with a constant flow of up-to-date content including live reporting, interviews, videos, photos, podcasts, and so much more.

The WSOP has been the world’s most iconic poker festival for over four decades. The first WSOP took place in 1970 at the Horseshoe Casino in Las Vegas, and it was an invitational where Benny Binion invited six of the best known poker players to compete. However, the winner of the first WSOP was not the one to win the tournament, but rather the player voted as the best by his peers.

The early years of the WSOP were nothing like the current two-month event that takes place in Las Vegas every summer. Back then, things were much smaller. That soon changed with the introduction of satellite tournaments in the 1980s, and since then the WSOP has seen a massive amount of growth.

In 2003, the first online qualifier to win the WSOP Main Event emerged. That man was Chris Moneymaker, and his journey was broadcast throughout the world on ESPN. This encouraged millions of people to start playing online poker and ignited "the poker boom." The sudden growth of the online poker industry has ever since been known as "the Moneymaker effect."

Today, the WSOP is the largest and the most popular poker event in the world. Each year, tens of thousands of poker players come to Las Vegas in hopes of winning a WSOP bracelet, including the best of the best like Phil Hellmuth, Doyle Brunson, Phil Ivey, Johnny Chan and Daniel Negreanu.

Be sure to check PokerNews for the latest WSOP news, videos and live reports straight from Las Vegas, and also be sure to visit our extensive archives for all the reports and results from previous WSOP events and much more.

Finished Tournaments

Tournament Winner Winning Hand Prize Runner-up Losing Hand
2015 World Series of Poker
2014 World Series of Poker 10 ♦10 ♥ $10,000,000 Felix Stephensen a ♥9 ♥
2013 World Series of Poker a ♥k ♥ $8,361,570 Jay Farber q ♠5 ♠
2012 World Series of Poker k ♦5 ♦ $8,531,853 Jesse Sylvia q ♠j ♠
2011 World Series of Poker a ♠k ♣ $8,715,638 Martin Staszko 10 ♣7 ♣
2010 World Series of Poker a ♠j ♥ $8,944,310 John Racener k ♦8 ♦
2009 WSOP Main Event - The Final Table 9 ♣9 ♦ $8,547,042 Darvin Moon q ♦j ♦
2009 World Series of Poker
2008 WSOP Main Event - The Final Table a ♦5 ♠ $9,152,416 Ivan Demidov 4 ♥2 ♥
2008 World Series of Poker
2007 World Series of Poker 8 ♣8 ♦ $8,250,000 Tuan Lam a ♦q ♦