Chris Ferguson Clinches 2017 World Series of Poker Player of the Year

Chris Ferguson Clinches 2017 World Series of Poker Player of the Year 0001

Chris Ferguson is poised to be crowned the 2017 World Series of Poker Player of the Year. The news came in an announcement by the WSOP via Twitter on Monday, following the elimination of second-in-points John Racener from the final POY-eligible event of the year.

For his POY win, Ferguson will receive an entry into the $10,000 buy-in WSOP Main Event next year and get his face on a banner that will be displayed in the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino with the other former WSOP Players of the Year and WSOP Main Event winners. Here's a look at the elite group of POY winners that Ferguson will be joining.

YearWinnerBracelets WonFinal Tables
2004Daniel Negreanu15
2005Allen Cunningham14
2006Jeff Madsen24
2007Tom Schneider23
2008Erick Lindgren13
2009Jeff Lisandro34
2010Frank Kassela23
2011Ben Lamb14
2012Greg Merson22
2013Daniel Negreanu24
2014George Danzer35
2015Mike Gorodinsky13
2016Jason Mercier24

Race to the Top

Ferguson went into the WSOPE in October with the lead in the Player of the Year race after his 17 cashes and two top-four finishes in $10,000 Championship events in the 2017 WSOP in Las Vegas. His summer performance earned him a €10,350 buy-in to the WSOPE Main Event at King's Casino in Rozvadov which kicked off with two starting flights over the weekend.

After six WSOPE cashes including his sixth bracelet win in Event #7: €1,650 Pot-Limit Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better for €39,289, Ferguson extended his lead in the POY race as the final qualifying event neared.

Heading into the WSOPE Main Event on Saturday, Racener was in the best position to challenge Ferguson for POY, sitting 136 points behind, while Ryan Hughes had 184 points to make up in third place. When Racener was eliminated on Day 2 Monday, Ferguson had the title locked up.

Following are the updated POY standings:

1Chris Ferguson1,178.53
2John Racener1,042.04
3Ryan Hughes994.35
4John Monnette865.21
5Mike Leah849.16
6Kenny Hallaert838.35
7Alex Foxen833.45
8Dario Sammartino775.89
9Ray Henson768.49
10Ben Yu766.49

Player Reactions

As a controversial figure in the poker world since his alleged involvement in the Full Tilt Poker scandal, Ferguson stayed clear of live poker tournaments after "Black Friday" on April 15, 2011 but made a return to the felt in the 2016 WSOP, prompting outrage from many in the community.

After finishing ninth in the 2016 POY race that Jason Mercier won, now, in his second year back in the public eye, Ferguson captures the highly-esteemed POY title to join an elite bunch of well-respected players in the community. Ferguson's impressive run during the WSOPE received support from Phil Hellmuth on Twitter, which in turn spurred much negative feedback from Daniel Negreanu and others.

Players' reactions captured by PokerNews' Julia Lee at WSOPE Rozvadov were mostly positive and congratulatory towards Ferguson with the exception of 888poker Ambassador and online poker pro Parker Talbot aka "Tonkaaaap", who feels that Ferguson's winning of the POY title is ... let's just say — not good for poker.

While all are entitled to their opinions on the merits of Ferguson as the newest POY member, as well as opinions on the formula for calculating POY, none can argue with the impressive results Ferguson has had this year, and it is those results that have propelled him to the top of the POY race for 2017.

  • Chris Ferguson secured POY with 6 cashes and a bracelet at WSOPE Rozvadov, @racener falls short

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Negreanu, Monnette Won't Chase Ferguson in WSOP Player of the Year Race Negreanu, Monnette Won't Chase Ferguson in WSOP Player of the Year Race