World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

WSOP Updates – Event 49 – Greg 'FBT' Mueller Marquee Name at Final Table

WSOP Updates – Event 49 – Greg 'FBT' Mueller Marquee Name at Final Table 0001

The start of Day Two action in the biggest non-Main Event tournament in World Series of Poker history began at 2:00 P.M. Sunday. Starting with a monstrous field of 3,151 players and generating a $4,301,115 prize pool, Event #49, $1,500 No Limit Hold 'Em continued where it left off the previous day as players showed little hesitation in trying to chip up from the moment the cards hit the felt.

Two hundred and eighteen players returned to the Rio to compete for the large first-place cash of $722,914 and a coveted WSOP bracelet, but by the end of the first two rounds, the field was narrowed considerably as 88 players hit the rail. With all of Sunday's players having already made the money, the bustouts moved so quickly that to catch-up with payouts, the Harrah's staff had to give the players an un-planned break. .

The day's big story was the stormy play of Full Tilt's Greg "FBT" Mueller. Down to 26,000 chips after getting drawn out on by a short-stack, Mueller rallied throughout the day and found himself at the top of the chip counts. Mueller has played great poker throughout the 2007 WSOP and today's results once-again prove he is a legitimate contender in every tournament he enters.

The day's "tough luck" award goes to Day Two's starting chip leader, Mads Wissing Andersen. After jumping to the top of the chip counts and basically having his way with his opponents, Andersen failed to catch cards on Day two and was eliminated in 91st place. He earned $5,807 for his play.

Another big story of the day focused on the hyper-aggressive play of Taylor Douglas. After repeatedly hitting big hands in several situation and eliminating his share of players on the way to roughly 2.6 million in chips. Douglas kept the pressure on the rest of the field for the remainder of the day's play and goes into the final table with the biggest chipstack.

Today's seats and chip counts are as follows:

Seat 1: Lewis Titterton 552,000

Seat 2: Greg Mueller 1,032,000

Seat 3: Chandrasekhar Billavara 456,000

Seat 4: Leandro Pimentel 1,134,000

Seat 5: John Hunt 1,128,000

Seat 6: Taylor Douglas 2,618,000

Seat 7: Duane Felix 996,000

Seat 8: John Hunt 833,000

Seat 9: Cort Kibler-Melby 694,000

Make sure to check back with at 12:00 P.M. (PDT) for all of the Event #49, $1,500 No Limit Hold'em final table action as the final nine battle for the gold bracelet and a hefty first-place cash.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories