World Series of Poker Europe

Mizrachi Leads WSOP $50K Poker Players' Championship All-Time Money List, Rast Second

Michael "The Grinder" Mizrachi
  • After the 2016 event, Michael Mizrachi leads $50,000 Poker Players' Championship all-time money list.

The $50,000 Poker Players' Championship wrapped up on Wednesday at the 2016 World Series of Poker with Brian Rast earning his second victory in the event after he defeated a field of 91 entries and beat Justin Bonomo in heads-up play. Rast won just shy of $1.3 million for the win.

On the all-time money list for this specific event, Rast moved into second with $3.016 million in winnings, thanks to two cashes that were both wins. Rast's other win was in 2011 when he beat a field of 128 players to win $1.72 million.

Here's a look at all of the event's champions dating back to the first installment in 2006:

$50,000 Poker Players' Championship Winners

YearWinnerPrize# of EntrantsPrize Pool
2006David "Chip" Reese$1,716,000143$6,864,000
2007Freddy Deeb$2,276,832148$7,104,000
2008Scotty Nguyen$1,989,120148$7,104,000
2009David Bach$1,276,80695$4,560,000
2010Michael Mizrachi$1,559,046116$5,568,000
2011Brian Rast$1,720,328128$6,144,000
2012Michael Mizrachi$1,451,527108$5,184,000
2013Matthew Ashton$1,774,089132$6,336,000
2014John Hennigan$1,517,767102$4,896,000
2015Mike Gorodinsky$1,270,08684$3,696,000
2016Brian Rast$1,296,09791$4,176,000

As you can see from the data in the table, the best three years for the event were the first three, 2006, 2007, and 2008. The biggest beneficiary was Freddy Deeb, who won the event in 2007 for $2.277 million. In 2008, the event had the same amount of entries as the year before, which generated the same prize pool, but a reworked payout structure saw Scotty Nguyen win a little less at $1.989 million.

Mizrachi Leads WSOP K Poker Players' Championship All-Time Money List, Rast Second 101

Looking at the chart above that displays the number of entries by year in the event, the event took its biggest dip in 2009, when it went from 148 entries to 95, losing nearly 36 percent of the field from the year prior. In 2010, the event's H.O.R.S.E. format was changed to 8-game with the additions of 2-7 triple draw, no-limit hold'em, and pot-limit Omaha. In 2015, more games were added, as badugi and no-limit 2-7 single draw were tossed into the mix to make the event a 10-game format, but it then reverted to 8-game for 2016.

Getting back to this event's all-time money list, 122 different players have cashed in this event. There have been 169 places paid out over the years, so 47 in-the-money finishes have been represented by players who have cashed more than once.

Leading the way with the most amount of cashes in the $50,000 Poker Players' Championship are Andy Bloch and Barry Greenstein, both with four cashes apiece. Both also have two final-table appearances. Bloch's best result was in 2006 when he lost to David "Chip" Reese in the inaugural event and earned $1.03 million. Greenstein's biggest score in the event was in 2008 when he took sixth place for $355,200.

Michael "The Grinder" Mizrachi is the only player to reach the final table three times, winning the event twice, in 2010 and 2012. Mizrachi is also the event's all-time leading money earner with nearly $3.4 million in earnings.

Here's a look at the event's all-time money list:

RankPlayerCashesFinal TablesMoney Won
1Michael Mizrachi (W2010, 2012)33$3,391,515
2Brian Rast (W2011, 2016)22$3,016,425
3Freddy Deeb (W2007)21$2,360,462
4John Hennigan (W2014)32$2,325,329
5Scotty Nguyen (W2008)11$1,989,120
6Matthew Ashton (W2013)21$1,861,099
7Andy Bloch42$1,813,988
8David "Chip" Reese (W2006)11$1,784,640
9John Hanson22$1,641,679
10Mike Gorodinsky (W2015)31$1,519,715
11Bruno Fitoussi22$1,448,599
12David Bach (W2009)21$1,436,646
13Michael DeMichele11$1,243,200
14Chris Klodnicki22$1,148,249
15Vladimir Schemelev21$1,131,904
16Don Nguyen11$1,096,254
17Phil Hellmuth11$1,063,034
18Matt Glantz32$1,044,458
19Minh Ly22$975,593
20Brandon Shack-Harris11$937,975
21Barry Greenstein42$928,919
22Justin Bonomo11$801,048
23Jean-Robert Bellande11$784,828
24Erick Lindgren11$781,440
25Phil Ivey21$777,600
26David Singer22$749,280
27David Oppenheim21$745,545
28Huck Seed32$708,651
29David "ODB" Baker21$657,123
30Abe Mosseri31$642,726
31Jesse Martin11$594,570
32Amnon Filippi11$586,080
33Lyle Berman21$573,957
34Jim Bechtel11$549,120
35Eric Wasserson11$545,772
36Erik Sagstrom11$522,393
37Robert Mizrachi31$516,650
38David Benyamine11$497,122
39Daniel Alaei31$492,771
40Owais Ahmed11$482,058
41TJ Cloutier11$480,480
42Dewey Tomko21$474,624
43Mike Wattel31$467,046
44Kenny Tran11$444,000
45John Juanda11$436,865
46Luke Schwartz11$406,736
47Doyle Brunson21$398,880
48George Danzer11$388,523
49Vitaly Lunkin11$368,812
50Scott Seiver21$359,425
51Ben Sulsky11$353,928
52Roland Israelashvili11$317,882
53Ralph Perry20$314,880
54Jonathan Duhamel21$307,018
55George Lind11$300,411
56Ray Dehkarghani21$299,617
57Chun Lei Zhou11$286,122
58Tommy Hang20$279,292
60Lamar Wilkinson11$272,558
61David "Bakes" Baker11$272,275
62Stephen Chidwick11$253,497
63Jeff Lisandro20$248,635
64Daniel Negreanu20$234,782
65Patrick Bueno11$230,880
66Ville Wahlbeck11$219,655
67Frank Kassela11$212,829
T-68Patrik Antonius10$205,920
T-68Robert Williamson III10$205,920
T-68Gavin Smith10$205,920
71Bill Chen11$205,856
72Brett Richey20$204,579
73Ben Lamb11$201,338
74Joe Cassidy20$193,227
75Thor Hansen11$188,256
76Dan Kelly11$184,222
77Chau Giang11$184,087
78Mikael Thuritz11$182,463
79Raymond Davis10$177,600
80Michael Glick10$173,796
81Jason Lester10$168,529
82Melissa Burr11$165,435
83Erik Seidel11$162,381
84Nick Schulman10$152,730
85Alexander Kostritsyn10$152,730
86Bryn Kenney10$147,882
87Yan Chen10$143,400
88Joseph Michael10$142,320
T-89Jason Mercier10$139,265
T-89Shawn Buchanan10$139,265
T-91David Levi10$137,280
T-91Cong Do10$137,280
93Allen Kessler11$134,101
94Gabe Kaplan10$131,424
95Lyle Berman10$129,957
96Kevin Song10$128,620
T-97Josh Arieh10$124,723
T-97Mike Binger10$124,723
99Gus Hansen10$123,895
T-100Mark Gregorich10$117,216
T-100Stephen Wolff10$117,216
T-102Rep Porter10$116,571
T-102Elior Sion10$116,571
T-104James Obst10$115,447
T-104Todd Brunson10$115,447
106Allen Bari10$113,030
107Troy Burkholder10$111,893
108Justin Smith10$110,083
109Sebastian Ruthenberg10$108,503
110Viktor Blom10$105,235
T-111Tim Phan10$103,008
T-111Greg Raymer10$103,008
113David Chiu10$99,590
114Ilya Bulychev10$98,330
115Paul Volpe10$92,702
T-116Chris Reslock10$88,800
T-116Mike Matusow10$88,800
118John Racener10$87,010
119Tony G10$83,630
T-120Steve Billirakis10$72,914
T-120John Kabbaj10$72,914
122Gary Benson10$55,947

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories