PokerStars SCOOP

The PokerStars Spring Championship of Online Poker (SCOOP) is one of the most prestigious online poker festivals in history, along with its counterpart the World Championship of Online Poker (WCOOP).

Established in 2009, the festival has seen several notable Main Event-H champions including Viktor "Isildur1" Blom and Mustapha "lasagnaaammm" Kanit, and has awarded over $1 billion in prize money.

The most famous SCOOP Main Event champion is Gianluca "Tankanza" Speranza who sensationally won back-to-back Main Events in 2017 and 2018 for a combined $2.1m.

View By Year:

Finished Tournaments

Winner Winning Hand Prize Runner-up Losing Hand
2023 PokerStars Spring Championship of Online Poker Sodaski Sodaski 86 $232,582 PokerHorst a8

SCOOP Events

Just like WCOOP, SCOOP is divided into Low, Medium and High tier events. In 2009, there were 22 events split three ways for a combined 66 tournaments. By 2021, this had grown to 102 individual events and a combined 306 overall tournaments.

YearEventsTournamentsEntriesPrize poolsWinners' Prizes

SCOOP NLHE Main Event-H Winners

Each year, the highlight of the SCOOP festival is the Main Event. In 2016, Talal Shakerchi won almost $1.5 million in prize money for his SCOOP Main Event victory, a record for the largest SCOOP first prize ever.

YearBuy-inPlayerCountryPrizeEntriesPrize Pool
2009$10,300Jude "j.thaddeus" AinsworthIreland$963,338502$5,020,000
2010$10,300Ryan "toetagU" FairUnited States$1,162,350615$6,150,000
2011$10,300Sami "Lrslzk" KelopuroFinland$504,691.09*380$3,800,000
2012$10,300Nicholas "GripDsNutz" GrippoCosta Rica$798,675*517$5,170,000
2013$10,300Viktor "Isildur1" BlomUnited Kingdom$1,096,200580$5,800,000
2014$10,300Ivan "vandir4rek" SoshnikovRussia$1,048,000657$6,570,000
2015$10,300Mustapha "lasagnaaammm" KanitUnited Kingdom$1,304,720694$6,940,000
2016$10,300Talal "raidalot" ShakerchiUnited Kingdom$1,468,000.88824$8,000,002
2017$10,300Charlie "Epiphany77" CarrelUnited Kingdom$1,200,899*693$6,930,000
2018$10,300Gianluca "Tankanza" SperanzaAustria$1,133,160.03654$6,540,000
2019$10,300Gianluca "Tankanza" SperanzaAustria$1,028,203.24662$6,620,000
2020$10,300Aliaksandr "Alexgirs" HirsBelarus$920,596609$6,090,000

Most SCOOP Titles

The player with the most SCOOP titles is Calvin "cal42688" Anderson with ten overall titles between 2010 and 2018. Anderson has won titles in PLO, Stud Hi-Lo, Razz, HORSE, 8-Game and No-Limit Hold'em.

Here is a list of the full ten events:

2010SCOOP-17-L: $16.50+R PLO [6-Max, $100K Guaranteed]3,788$26,941
2011SCOOP-25-M: $215 Stud Hi/Lo [$40K Guaranteed]340$13,090
2011SCOOP-27-H: $2,100 Razz [$150,000 Guaranteed]66$46,200
2013SCOOP-25-M: $215 FL Hold'em [6-Max], $50K Gtd639$23,643
2014SCOOP-38-H: $2,100 HORSE, $100K Gtd111$47,065*
2015SCOOP-13-H: $2,100 Stud, $75K Gtd66$36,600*
2016SCOOP-40-L: $27 8-Game, $25K Guaranteed1,912$7,511
2017SCOOP-13-H: $530 NLHE [3-Max, Turbo, Zoom, Progressive KO], $300K Gtd1,572$62,920, + $18,524 in bounties
2018SCOOP-19-H: $2,100 NLHE [6-Max], $500K Gtd338$126,659
2018SCOOP-19-H: $2,100 NLHE [6-Max], $500K Gtd137$26,305*

*denotes final table deal

Read More: Cal "cal42688" Anderson Wins Record Ninth and 10th SCOOP Titles

Four other players have won at least six SCOOP titles. They are Jussi "calvin7v" Nevanlinna, Connor "blanconegro" Drinan, Shawn "buck21" Buchanan and Benny "RunGodlike" Glaser.

RankPlayerCountrySCOOP Titles
1Calvin "cal42688" AndersonMexico10
2Jussi "calvin7v" NevanlinnaFinland7
3=Connor "blanconegro" DrinanMexico6
3=Shawn "buck21" BuchananCanada6
3=Benny "RunGodlike" GlaserUnited Kingdom6

SCOOP Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What does SCOOP stand for in poker?

SCOOP stands for Spring Championship of Online Poker, an annual online poker festival on PokerStars

When was the first Spring Championship of Online Poker?

The first SCOOP took place in 2009 on PokerStars

What was the biggest first-prize in SCOOP history?

In 2016, Talal Shakerchi won $1,468,001 after winning the SCOOP Main Event. It remains the largest first prize in SCOOP history.