World Series of Poker Europe

Aussie Millions, Event #1 Day 1c: Nick Haidaris Leads the Day 1c Field

Aussie Millions, Event #1 Day 1c: Nick Haidaris Leads the Day 1c Field 0001

Day 1c of the first event of the 2010 Aussie Millions saw 459 players take to the felt at the Crown Casino poker room in Melbourne, Australia. This event was a repechage event, which meant that if a player went busto on Day 1a or 1b, he or she had the option of buying back in on today's third flight. Unlike previous repechage events, new players were also allowed to buy in to today's flight.

The total number of entrants for Event 1 was 1,143 (919 unique players and 224 who repechaged), bringing the total prize pool to $1,143,000 AUD, and making this the biggest major poker tournament in Australia. In all, 108 players will walk away with a piece of the prize pool, and first place will take home $200,025 AUD.

After the chips were bagged and tagged, Nick Haidaris emerged with the chip lead (165,300). Eighty-three players remained from today's starting field. David Saab, JP Kelly, Antonis "Toothpick Tony" Kambouroglou, Brendan Edmonds, Con Tsapkounis, and Jim Sachinidis are some of the recognizable players who will be back tomorrow when players from all three Day 1 flights meet for the first time for Day 2.

Some players who won't be coming back to the felt for Day 2 include Tony "Bond18" Dunst, 2009 Aussie Millions Main Event Champion Stewart Scott, Emad Tahtouh, Barny Boatman, Matthew Pearson, Rayan Nathan, Joe Hachem, PokerNews' own Tony G, Lee Nelson, Billy "The Croc" Argyros, Jonathan Karamalikis, Michael Guzzardi, James Akenhead, Ben Delaney, and Sorel Mizzi.

The cards will be in the air for Day 2 Sunday in Melbourne at 12:30 p.m. GMT +11, and PokerNews will be covering all the action live.

Follow us on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news, and also become our fan on Facebook.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories