Now LiveEvents
PokerStars Championship Prague
888poker
New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
PokerStars
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
Unibet
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

PokerStars to Host Fund Raiser Tournament for Thor Hansen on Sunday, Feb. 19

Thor Hansen

A few weeks ago, the poker world learned the unfortunate news that Thor Hansen, a poker legend and two-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner, had been diagnosed with terminal cancer. Players have shown their support for Hansen in a number of ways such as organizing a charity tournament held on Betfair Poker last week. Now, PokerStars is stepping up to the plate to help raise money for the Thor Hansen Fund.

Two charity tournaments will be held Sunday, Feb. 19, to help raise money for the fund, which was established by Hansen’s close friends, Frode Fagerli and Andreas Høivold. Proceeds from the tournaments will help pay for Hansen’s treatment.

According to the European Poker Tour’s Twitter account:

The first tourney will be at 1930 CET (1330 EST) on Sunday — a $10+$10 tourney with $10 going to the prize pool and $10 to the Thor Hansen Charity Fund.

At 2000 CET (1400 EST), there will be a $50+$50 event with $50 going to the prize pool and $50 to the Thor Hansen Charity Fund.

To find the tournaments, which are open to all, look under Tourneys — Regional. If you don’t have PokerStars, you can download it through PokerNews and receive a 100% up to $600 Bonus + $67,500 PokerNews Freeroll Series.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

More Stories

Related Tournaments

Other Stories

What do you think?