World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

Pete Chen Named 2014 Asia Player of the Year

Pete Chen

The 2014 Asia Player of the Year (APOY) race has come to an end, and Taiwanese poker pro Pete Chen has officially captured the title. The 26-year-old will see his named etched on the APOY legacy trophy and he'll also be awarded a one-year sponsorship to PokerStars Asia special events.

Chen’s victory came after amassing 5,691 points – second most for a APOY recipient. He also set a record for the largest margin of victory, coming in 1,714 points ahead of runner-up Ka Cheong Wong (3,977 points).

Chen made seven final tables this season and notched one win back in August when he took down the HK$2,500 No-Limit Hold’em Deepstack at the Macau Poker Cup 21 (MPC). All told, Chen won HK$1,383,511 (USD $178,411) during the season, moving him into 14th on the APOY all-time money list.

Here’s a look at the APOY winners dating back to the award’s inception in 2009:

YearPlayerCountryPointsWinnings (HKD)Final TablesTitles
2014Pete ChenChinese Taipei5,691$1,383,51171
2013Jian YangChina3,922$2,040,10032
2012Yosuke SekiyaJapan4,191$1,002,60061
2011Hung-Sheng "Shaq" LinChinese Taipei6,278$1,272,690101
2010Bryan HuangSingapore3,166$594,05061
2009Kitty KuoChinese Taipei4,752$601,04531

Speaking of the all-time money list, Steve O’Dwyer’s win in the Asia Championship of Poker Super High Roller vaulted him to the top of that leaderboard. Meanwhile, Team PokerStars Pro Celina Lin has the distinction of being the APOY’s most decorated player with 12,434 lifetime points, 26 final table (also a record), and four victories, which puts her in a five-way tie for most titles in Official APOY events.

Here’s a look at the all-time APOY winners:

RankPlayerCountryPointsEarnings (HKD)Final TablesTitles
1Celina LinChina12,434$2,661,571264
2Hung Sheng "Shaq" LinChinese Taipei12,379$2,376,930233
3Raiden KanHong Kong12,332$3,781,019252
4Alexandre ChiengChina8,909$3,526,610192
5Chen An LinChinese Taipei8,506$1,256,740144
6Sparrow CheungHong Kong8,313$1,732,745234
7Justin ChanHong Kong7,877$1,247,675161
8Tetsuya TsuchikawaJapan7,836$1,563,650154
9Aaron Hung-Chang LinChinese Taipei7,427$869,268182
10Devan TangHong Kong7,293$5,855,85092

The 2015 Asia Player of the Year race will begin on Dec. 17, 2014 at the Beijing Cup and conclude next year with the 2015 ACOP from Oct. 30-Nov. 15.

For more information visit

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories