World Series of Poker Europe

2016 Irish Open Commences On Monday, March 21 with First of 32 Events

2016 Irish Open
  • The 2016 Irish Open festival sees 32 events take place between March 21-28 at the Citywest Hotel, Dublin.

  • €500,000 guaranteed for the 2016 Irish Open Main Event. Are you ready?

The 2016 Irish Open poker festival has arrived and everything points to it being one of the best yet. With 32 events scheduled from March 21-28, including pot-limit Omaha, no-limit hold'em, Irish poker, heads-up, and six-max events, there is certainly something for everyone.

Now in its 25th year, the Irish Open is the longest running poker festival in Europe and trails only the World Series of Poker in terms of global longevity. In recent years, the Irish Open has been a Paddy Power-sponsored event, but this is the first edition under new management and the team hopes to see huge fields competing in every tournament, especially the €500,000 guaranteed Main Event.

Speaking on behalf of the Irish Open earlier this year, Paul O'Reilly said: "We're thrilled to be bringing the Irish Open back to the masses with a reduced buy in and guaranteeing a bumper prize pool of half a million Euros. There will be a huge week of poker partying in Dublin and anyone who's ever been here knows Dublin can party! We can't wait to welcome people from all over Ireland and the World to City West for what will prove to be an amazing week-long poker event."

2016 Irish Open Schedule

DateTime (Local)Tournament
Monday, March 214 p.m.€60 No-Limit Hold'em Dealer's Event
 4 p.m.€350 Pot-Limit Omaha 6-Max Triple Chance
 6 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold'em Deepstack 6-Max
 8 p.m.€60 Irish Open Satellite
Tuesday, March 224:00pmPot-Limit Omaha Day 2
 4 p.m.€60 Pot-Limit Omaha Turbo
 4 p.m.€350 No-Limit Hold’em 6-Max
 4 p.m.€150 Pot-Limit Omaha Deepstack 6-Max
 8 p.m.€60 Irish Open Satellite
Wednesday, March 231:00pm€350 No-Limit Hold’em Heads-Up Round 1
 2 p.m.€60 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo
 3 p.m.Heads-Up Round 2
 4 p.m.€2,000 No-Limit Hold’em High Roller 8-Max
 4 p.m.€60 Pot-Limit Omaha Turbo
 6 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em 6-Max Deepstack
 8 p.m.€110 Irish Open Satellite
Thursday, March 2412:00pmHeads-Up quarter-final
 2 p.m.€1,150 Irish Open Main Event Day 1a
 2 p.m.€60 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo
 6 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo
 8 p.m.€110 Irish open Super Satellite
Friday, March 2512:00pmHeads-Up semi-final
 2 p.m.€1,150 Irish Open Main Event Day 1b
 2 p.m.€60 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo
 6 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em/Pot-Limit Omaha round of each
 8 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em 3-Card
Saturday, March 2612:00pmHeads-Up final
 2 p.m.Irish Open Main Event Day 2
 2 p.m.€60 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo
 4 p.m.€350 No-Limit Hold’em Liam Flood Memorial 6-Max
 6 p.m.€250 No-Limit Hold’em 6-Max
 8 p.m.€150 Open Face Chinese 4-Max
Sunday, March 272:00pmIrish Open Main Event Day 3
 2 p.m.€250 No-Limit Hold’em Mini Irish Open
 6 p.m.€250 Pot-Limit Omaha 6-Max
 8 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em
Monday, March 281:00pm€250 No-Limit Hold’em Seniors
 2 p.m.Irish Open Main Event Day 4
 2 p.m.Mini Irish Open Day 2
 2 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em Scalps
 4 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em Win the Button
 6 p.m.€150 No-Limit Hold’em Deepstack Turbo

€500,000 Guaranteed Irish Open Main Event

The Irish Open Main Event is one of the most eagerly anticipated tournaments on the European calendar thanks large in part to the amazing atmosphere that you can only experience in Ireland.

Last year, Ioannis Triantafyllidis outlasted 320 opponents to scoop the €209,500 first-place prize in what was then a €3,500 buy-in tournament. Before Triantafyllidis, Ireland’s Patrick Clarke was a popular champion, his victory ensuring the Irish Open trophy stayed on home soil.

Other past Irish Open Main Event winners include Ian Simpson, who famously proposed to his girlfriend shortly after winning €265,000, Belgium’s Kevin Vandermissen, and British duo James Mitchell and the legendary Neil Channing.

Past 10 Irish Open Main Event Results

YearBuy-inEntrantsPrize poolChampionPrize
2015€3,500321€1,027,000Ioannis Triantafyllidis€209,500
2014€2,250411€822,000Patrick Clarke€200,000
2013€2,250505€1,010,000Ian Simpson€265,000
2012€3,500502€1,606,400Kevin Vandersmissen€420,000
2011€3,500615€1,968,000Niall Smyth€550,000
2010€3,500708€2,265,200James Mitchell€600,000
2009€3,500700€2,240,000Christer Johansson€600,000
2008€4,500667€3,000,000Neil Channing€801,400
2007€3,500708€2,336,500Marty Smyth€650,000
2006€3,200339€1,017,000Vincent Melinn€350,000

Want to stay atop all the latest in the poker world? If so, make sure to get PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories