2021 World Series of Poker Europe 888poker WPTDS London Online

WSOP Announces 10 Finalists for 2016 Poker Hall of Fame

2016 Poker Hall of Fame

The World Series of Poker announced Sept. 9 the 10 finalists eligible for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame.

Here is the 2016 Poker Hall of Fame Finalists list: Chris Bjorin, Humberto Brenes, Todd Brunson, Eli Elezra, Bruno Fitoussi, Chris Moneymaker, Carlos Mortensen, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David 'Devilfish' Ulliott.

After a vetting and public nomination process, three new candidates - Brunson, Elezra and Moneymaker - join this list with six returning finalists and one returning nominee (Brenes).

The current 25 living Hall of Famers and a 20-person media panel will decide on the finalists from here. On Oct. 26 in Las Vegas at the Binion's Gambling Hall, up to two finalists will be inducted. Official ballots will be sent to voters later this month to return to the WSOP Governing Council by Oct. 7.

According to WSOP, their vote will be based on a variety of criteria, namely that a player has played poker against top competition, is a minimum of 40 years old at the time of nomination, has played for high stakes, has played consistently well and gained the respect of peers, stood the test of time and contributed to the growth and success of poker with positive results (for non-players).

The inductees will be announced at an induction ceremony and dinner as part of the World Series of Poker Main Event final table activities in Las Vegas in Binion's Gambling Hall's Longhorn Room Oct. 26. The inductees will also be recognized at the November Nine events at the Penn & Teller Theater at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino.

Established in 1979, the Poker Hall of Fame, though virtual, recognizes influential players and contributors to the game. The Poker Hall of Fame was acquired with the World Series of Poker by Harrah's Entertainment in 2004, but has honored 50 Hall of Famers since its start.

Photo courtesy of World Series of Poker

Be sure to complete your PokerNews experience by checking out an overview of our mobile and tablet apps here. Stay on top of the poker world from your phone with our mobile iOS and Android app, or fire up our iPad app on your tablet. You can also update your own chip counts from poker tournaments around the world with MyStack on both Android and iOS.

  • Who gets your vote? WSOP announces the 2016 Poker Hall of Fame finalists.

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

The 2016 November Nine: Seat 5, Cliff Josephy The 2016 November Nine: Seat 5, Cliff Josephy