2021 World Series of Poker 2021 MSPT Venetian

Big Winners at the 2018 Melbourne Poker Championship

Gautam Dhingra

The Melbourne Poker Championship wrapped up at Crown Casino Aug. 13 after 13 days of poker tournaments. A total of 15 events played down to a winner, with Gautam Dhingra (lead image) shipping the A$1,650 buy-in Main Event for A$156,051 ($113,309). The flagship event attracted 523 entries, generating a total prize pool of A$784,500 with 63 getting paid a minimum of A$3,140.

A$1,650 Main Event Final Table Results

PlaceNameCountryPrize Money
1stGautam DhingraAustraliaA$156,051 ($113,309)
2ndHyung Tai KimKoreaA$124,424 ($90,319)
3rdJulius ColmanAustraliaA$66,690 ($48,410)
4thSimon ChahineAustraliaA$50,210 ($36,447)
5thJordan WestmorelandUnited StatesA$34,520 ($24,941)
6thJames HarkettsAustraliaA$27,455 ($19,836)
7thAdam MarkiewiczAustraliaA$22,360 ($16,155)
8thAndrew ZebroviusAustraliaA$18,830 ($13,605)
9thMinh Hau NguyenAustraliaA$15,690 ($11,336)

In addition to the big one, 14 side events offered more chances to secure a hefty profit, with everything from 8-Game to Pot-Limit Omaha Knock-Out to Hyper Turbo No-Limit Hold'em and a variety of events that employed a Shot Clock. Here's a look at some of the biggest winners from the series.

Series Highlights

The A$350 Opening Event drew a whopping 740 entries to generate a prize pool worth A$185,000 ($136,911). David Kelly got the victory along with the first-place prize of A$40,240 ($29,780).

Plenty of other events handed out five-figure scores for their winners, including Event #4: A$550 No-Limit Hold'em Deepstack. That event drew 392 entries for a prize pool of A$196,000 ($144,804) and Idris Hassan emerged victorious for a score of A$45,030 ($33,268). Also banking five-figure scores in that one were Natalia Rozova (second place for A$28,420; $20,997), David Tam (third place for A$17,640; $13,032) and Eugene Portlen (fourth place for A$13,915; $10,280).

Event #6: A$550 No-Limit Hold'em 6-Max got 243 total entries for a prize pool of A$121,500 ($90,130). Khac-Trung Tran took it down to claim the A$30,975 ($22,977) first-place prize while runner-up finisher Srdjan Brkic banked A$20,350 ($15,096). Main Event winner Dhingra final tabled the 6-max, finishing in 7th place for A$3,340 ($2,478).

The series also offered a A$1,100 No Limit Hold'em 6-Max Shot Clock Event which 129 players partook in. A total of 14 players got a piece of the A$129,000 ($95,531) prize pool with Joel Williams winning the lion's share of A$34,835 ($25,797).

Bobby Zhang also banked five-figures for second place worth A$23,865 ($17,673), as did third-place finisher Corentin Bouguennec, who won A$15,480 ($11,464). Also finishing at the final table were Eugene Portlen, who got his second fourth-place finish of the series for A$11,610 ($8,598) and well-know Australian online and live pro, Jonathan Karamalikis (seventh place for A$4,835; $3,581).

Cashing big in the A$550 No-Limit Hold'em Bounty were Jesse McKenzie, who took home A$21,625 ($16,055) for his victory, and Thomas Pearce, who had to settle for A$14,270 ($10,594) for his runner-up performance.

High Roller Results

The A$5,000 No-Limit Hold'em High Roller Event drew 61 runners, generating a prize pool of A$289,750 ($215,116). Seven players would finish in the money and Tino Lechich shipped it all to collect A$95,620 ($70,990). The lone German at the final table, Henri Buehler, fell short in fourth place for a payout worth A$31,870 ($23,661).

A$5,000 High Roller Complete Payouts

PlaceNameCountryPrize Money
1stTino LechichAustraliaA$95,620 ($70,990)
2ndRobert SpanoAustraliaA$60,850 ($45,176)
3rdAndrew HinrichsenAustralia$40,565 ($30,116)
4thHenri BuehlerGermanyA$31,870 ($23,661)
5thJordan WestmorelandAustralia$23,180 ($17,209)
6thLuke StokieAustralia$20,280 ($15,056)
7thZackery LowrieNew Zealand$17,385 ($12,907)
Tino Lechich
Tino Lechich

Photos courtesy of Crown Poker

  • Gautam Dhingra won the Melbourne Poker Championship A$1,650 Main Event for a cool A$156,051 ($113,309).

More Stories

Other Stories