Master Classics of Poker Plans to Return to Holland Casino Amsterdam on Nov. 13-20

Master Classics of Poker

After a year off due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the iconic Master Classics of Poker announced it plans to return for its 29th edition to Holland Casino Amsterdam on Nov. 13-20. The plans are pending a press conference of the national government on September 17 with organizers hoping that the 1.5-meter distance regulations will be lifted allowing not only for the festival to take place, but also allow Holland Casino to offer poker once again.

Holland Casino will make its final decision about the festival after the press conference including releasing this year's schedule if the event is allowed to take place.

Director of Gaming & Services at Holland Casino Pieter Boers made the following announcement about the festival according to (translated from Dutch to English):

"We are very happy to finally be able to get back into poker. Even if it is still only with the planning and preparations. We can't wait to finally be able to receive poker players again in Holland Casino after a year and a half. We had to cancel the 2020 edition of the Master Classics of Poker because of Corona. The health and safety of our guests and employees naturally came first. Nevertheless, we are now hopeful of organizing another Master Classics of Poker. In addition, we are also busy preparing for the reintroduction of the live poker offer in our branches. What the event will look like exactly and when and how we can offer live poker again."

About the Master Classics of Poker

The Master Classics of Poker is one of the longest-standing poker festivals not only in Europe but around the world. The festival began with humble beginnings in 1992 with a small 7-card stud event won by a local poker player Eng Angh for ƒ18,600 (€8,749).

The following year, the Main Event switched to no-limit hold'em where it remains that day. British poker player Surinder Sunar won that event for ƒ41,800 (€19,661).

Dutch player Belinda Blokker won the Main Event in 1995 before there was a 16-year gap between the next Dutch winner in David Boyaciyan in 2011. The Dutch have had better success in the Main Event during the past decade with Noah Boeken (2013), Ruben Visser (2014), Alberto Stegeman (2018), and defending champion Kevin Paqué (2019) all hoisting the trophy.

Related: Kevin Paqué Beats Steve O'Dwyer to Win 2019 Master Classics of Poker Main Event

Master Classics of Poker Main Event Champions (1992-2019)

YearWinnerCountryEntriesBuy-inTop Prize
2019Kevin PaquéNetherlands346€4,300€260,878
2018Alberto StegemanNetherlands293€4,300€240,183
2017Claas SegebrechtGermany285€4,300€235,087
2016Abdelhakim ZoufriNetherlands356€4,250€275,608
2015Jussi NevanlinnaFinland291€4,250€300,000
2014Ruben VisserNetherlands298€4,250€225,000*
2013Noah BoekenNetherlands298€4,250€306,821
2012Ole SchemionGermany212€5,250€286,200
2011David BoyaciyanNetherlands294€5,000€382,200
2010Marcel BjerkmannNorway249€6,000€403,380
2009Kristoffer ThorssonSweden342€6,200€636,120
2008Jan SorensenDenmark335€6,200€623,100
2007Trond EidsvigNorway428€5,100€620,600
2006Ali JalaliGermany345€5,000€700,000
2005Thomas MiddelthonNorway264€5,000€528,000
2004Robert MizrachiUnited States188€5,000€372,240
2003Johan StorakersSweden205€3,020€243,540
2002Angelo YuChina198€3,020€168,000
2001Graham HiewUnited Kingdom170ƒ5,040ƒ336,600
2000Steve LiuUnited Kingdom159ƒ5,000ƒ314,820
1999Ram VaswaniUnited Kingdom135ƒ5,000ƒ276,300
1998Asher DereiUnited Kingdom125ƒ5,000ƒ247,500
1997Bjorn JansonGermany90ƒ5,000ƒ178,200
1996Mike MageeIreland122ƒ1,000ƒ80,360
1995Belinda BlokkerNetherlands96ƒ1,000ƒ84,909
1994G HawassUnknown ƒ1,075ƒ56,050
1993Surinder SunarUnited Kingdom ƒ2,000ƒ41,800
1992Eng AnghNetherlands ƒ1,000ƒ18,600

*denotes a three-way deal

  • The final decision and details of the festival including the schedule will be published pending a government press conference on Sept. 17, 2021.

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories