$1,100 Main Event

Randy Perkins Bags Biggest in MSPT Iowa State Poker Championship Main Event Day 1b

TerranceReid • Level 15: Blinds 3,000-5,000, 5,000 ante
Randy Perkins

Day 1b of the MSPT Iowa State Poker Championship Main Event has come to a close and surviving players have bagged up until Sunday's Day 2 restart. Iowa's own Randy Perkins put the most chips in his bag with an impressive 445,000.

A total of 316 entrants fired today's flight. For the second night in a row, players made it down to 12 percent of the field before reaching the end of level 15, so 37 players will move on to Sunday's Day 2 and resume play at 11:00 a.m. on Sunday.

Early on in the day, Perkins went on a heater to build an early stack. He flopped a set against pocket aces to cross the 100,000 mark and never looked back.

Day 1b Top Ten Chip Counts

RankPlayerChip CountBig Blinds
1Randy Perkins445,00089
2Sam Rothschild385,00077
3Tim Garles356,00071
4Eric Atchison354,00071
5Bradley Beetz318,00064
6Sarah Stefan312,00062
7John Mingus296,00059
8Ben Hanson293,00059
9Marshall Lagani288,00058
10Byron Ziebell286,00057

CJ Peake was one player unable to find a bag, despite doubling his stack in the first few hands of play. Other players left without a bag were Mitchell Bank, Craig Casino, Gary Herstein, Andy Rogowski, Steve Vang, and Rob Wazwaz. Bank went out late in the day for the second flight in a row after a late-night cooler left him short-stacked.

Sarah Stefan (312,000), Elizabeth Ethridge (269,000), and Angela Jordison (254,000) all found big-stack bags. Stefan scored a big double knockout about halfway through the day and rode that momentum to a top-ten stack.

Players will return on Sunday at 11:00 a.m. and join the players from the other two flights.

That does it for today's coverage. PokerNews will be on hand the rest of the weekend to follow this one to what is sure to be an exciting conclusion.

Tags: Andy RogowskiAngela JordisonBen HansonBradley BeetzByron ZiebellCJ PeakeCraig CasinoElizabeth EthridgeEric AtchisonGary HersteinJohn MingusMarshall LaganiMitchell BankRandy PerkinsRob WazwazSam RothschildSarah StefanSteve VangTim Garles