$1,110 Main Event

Ndoja and Astrauskas March Forward, Johnson and Alsup Advance In Flight 1b

LiamGannon • Level 15: Blinds 3,000-5,000, 5,000 ante
Antonio Ndoja

After a record breaking turnout in the first flight of the $1,100 MSPT Main Event At Firekeepers Casino in Battle Creek Michigan, the second flight followed suit by seeing a whopping 836 entrants come to play Day 1b. The prize pool guarantee has been now met and sits at $1,422,990 and with one flight still remaining, a near doubling of the prize pool guarantee is nearly certain.

A total of 101 players made Day 2 from this flight and leading the way is Antonio Ndoja who ended the day with 643,000. Ndoja found himself raking in a massive pot at the end of the night when his full house cracked the pocket queens of his opponent. Ndoja is relatively new to the MSPT tournament scene and is looking to make his mark on this massive field.

Top Ten Chip Counts Day 1b

RankNameChip Counts
1Antonio Ndoja643,000
2Arturas Astrauskas628,000
3KC Vaughan533,000
4Justin Pimpedly530,000
5Andrew Fahey454,000
6Alex Farcas450,000
7Larry Wagner418,000
8Michael Puccio412,000
9Paul Davison403,000
10Paul Choi383,000

Nipping at his heels and the chip leader for most of the day was Arturas Astrauskas who ended the day with 628,000. The Illinois resident is no stranger to deep runs in tournaments, having cashed in the WSOP Main Event in 2018 as well as multiple WSOP cashes throughout the years. He comes into Day 2 as second overall and will look to add to his over $150,000 in lifetime earnings.

Other players that managed to find a bag at the end of the day included HPT champion Michael Puccio (412,000), Rich Alsup (218,000), Josh Reichard (148,000), Aaron Johnson (139,000) and Aaron Massey (77,000). Each one of them will be looking to add their names to this record-breaking prize pool.

Arturas Astrauskas
Arturas Astrauskas held the chip lead for most of the day, until the last hand of the night.

This flight was not good to all, as many MSPT legends fell throughout the day like Pat Steele, Sarah Stefan, Ralph Massey, Rob Wazwaz, Angela Jordison, Greg Himmelbrand, and defending champion Dan Bekavac who found no luck on any of his bullets today. Each one of them will have their chance to re-enter in the final flight.

This Day 1b had 836 entrants as compared to the last iteration’s number of 762. Play will continue for these players on Sunday the 14th at 11 a.m. unless they wish to forfeit their stack and play one of the other flights. Tomorrow’s flight begins at 12 p.m., stay tuned to PokerNews for all updates regarding the next two flights, the final day and the conclusion of the tournament.

Tags: Aaron JohnsonAaron MasseyAlex FarcasAndrew FaheyAngela JordisonAntonio NdojaArturas AstrauskasDan BekavacGreg HimmelbrandJosh ReichardJustin PimpedlySarah StefanLarry WagnerMichael PuccioPat SteelePaul ChoiPaul DavisonRalph MasseyRich AlsupRob Wazwaz