Live Events 6
$1,100 No-Limit Hold'em Accumulator

Australian Luke Brabin Wins AU$1,100 No-Limit Hold'em Accumulator (AU$131,365)!

donpeters • Level 22: 8,000-16,000, 2,000 ante
Champion Luke Brabin

Luke Brabin came into the final day of play with the chip lead, and he successfully rode that big stack all the way to the winner's circle, capturing his first gold bracelet and the AU$131,365 top prize.

At the start of the day, just nine players stood between Brabin and the title. After Kahle Burns fell in 10th place, David Profaca was the next to go in ninth. Then, Brabin busted Piyush Gupta in eighth place before Didier Guerin took out Brian McAllister in seventh. Those first four eliminations only took 20 hands of play, but things slowed after that.

Zane Ly didn't bust in sixth place until the 49th hand of the day, and then Ryan Hong exited 10 hands later. Four-handed play lasted for a little while, but then Stephen Lindeblad bounced to the payout desk in fourth place, as Brabin scored his second elimination of the day. In third fell Daniel Murphy, and he too was busted by Brabin, but only after Brabin scooped the largest pot of the tournament from Murphy.

That big pot took place on the 111th hand of the day, with Brabin and Murphy getting the money in on the {10-Clubs}{7-Diamonds}{6-Diamonds}{10-Spades} board. Both had trip tens, but it was Brabin's {10-Hearts}{9-Hearts} that out-kicked the {10-Diamonds}{2-Diamonds} for Murphy. Murphy did have a flush draw, but the {A-Hearts} on the river gave him no help and the nearly 1.5 million-chip pot was sent Brabin's way.

A couple hands later, Brabin finished off Murphy to set up a one-sided heads-up affair with Guerin.

Guerin began heads-up play with 216,000 to Brabin's massive 1.617 million. Guerin tried to fight and actually took most of the first few pots, but Brabin was just too much in the end. On the final hand, Guerin shoved the {9-Diamonds}{8-Diamonds} and lost out to Brabin's {K-Spades}{Q-Clubs}.

With that, the first event of the 2014 World Series of Poker Asia-Pacific is in the books, and Australian Luke Brabin will forever have his place in poker history.

Final Table Results

PlacePlayerPrize (AU$)
1Luke Brabin$131,365
2Didier Guerin$81,220
3Daniel Murphy$59,334
4Stephen Lindeblad$43,986
5Ryan Hong$33,080
6Zane Ly$25,234
7Brian McAllister$19,521
8Piyush Gupta$15,318
9David Profaca$12,189

The first event of the series may be a wrap, but that doesn't mean the PokerNews coverage stops here. There's still nine more gold bracelets to be awarded, and you can follow along with all the events here.

Tags: Luke Brabin