Event 16: $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em - Six-Handed

Muzzatti Leads Final Nine Into Day 3

Paul_Oresteen • Level 21: 6,000-12,000, 2,000 ante
Robert Muzzati has a slight lead over Mark Darner

Day 2 of Event 16, $1,500 Six Handed No Limit Hold’em, of the World Series of Poker is in the books. Just 137 of the 1,604 entrants returned today and only nine remain. Leading the march to the final day is Robert Muzzatti with 1.445 million.

Nipping at Muzzatti’s heels is Mark Darner, who bagged up 1.412 million. Mike Matusow finds himself third in chips with 816,000. Capable pros Matt Glantz (774,000), Mark Radoja (556,000) and Matt Matros (542,000) all lurk behind.

It was a day that saw many notable pros hit the rail, including; Allan Le, Raul Paez, Matt Hawlrilenko, Huy Nguyen, Tony Dunst, Andy Frankenberger, Andy Seth, Kathy Liebert, James Akenhead, Chino Rheem, Steve Zolotow, Tristan Wade and overnight chip leader Nick Maimone.

Matusow is looking for his fourth WSOP bracelet. He last made a WSOP final table in 2008 in the $10,000 Omaha Hi-Low World Championship, which was just ten days after he won his third bracelet in a $5,000 2-7 Triple Draw. He spent most of the day with a below average stack but rallied at the right times to survive.

Matros will be looking to add a third WSOP bracelet to his wrist in as many years. His bracelet in 2010 came a Limit Hold’em event and last year’s bracelet was in a Mixed Hold’em event. He also has two Main Event cashes to his credit.

Tenth Place finisher, an amateur, Elio Cohen played in his first WSOP event. He saved up all year to play and when Glantz asked why he picked this event he said, “Since I only had one event to play I might as well see some hands. It was worth it.”

Day 3 will start promptly at 1:00 p.m. PST in the Amazon Room and we’ll play down until we crown a new bracelet winner. Follow all the WSOP action live on PokerNews.com.

Official Chip Counts

Robert Muzzatti1,445,000
Mark Darner1,412,000
Mike Matusow816,000
Matt Glantz774,000
Gordon Vayo730,000
Jonathan Currle621,000
Mark Radoja621,000
Matt Matros542,000
Ramey Shaio333,000