2014 World Series of Poker

Event #23: $1,000 Turbo No-Limit Hold'em
Day: 1
Event Info

2014 World Series of Poker

Final Results
Winning Hand
Event Info
Level Info
25,000 / 50,000

Doug "WCGRider" Polk Leads Final Nine

Level 22 : 8,000-16,000, 2,000 ante
Doug Polk
Doug Polk

After a whirlwind day of poker, play has come to an end on Day 1 of Event #23: $1,000 Turbo No-Limit Hold'em. The two-day, 30-minute level, 3,000 chip starting stack event was built to move fast and it did not disappoint.

Day 1 saw 1,473 entries take a shot at turbo glory, creating a prize pool of $1,325,700. The winner will receive a World Series of Poker gold bracelet and $251,969.

After 22 levels of play we are down to a final nine. Doug “WCGRider” Polk will take the chip lead into the final table with 971,000. Also bagging up top stacks at the end of play were Andy Philachack (906,000), and Liam Allock (779,000).

Also headlining the final table is non other than Anthony “wwwbetherecom” Gregg. Jonathan Hanner, Chad Cox, Andrew Mackenzie, Dash Dudley, and Gianluca Cedolia round out the survivors. Here is the Day 2, Final Table seating assignment:

SeatNameChip Count
1Andy Philachack906,000
2Jonathan Hanner442,000
3Chad Cox247,000
4Tony Gregg271,000
5Andrew Mackenzie267,000
6Dash Dudley338,000
7Gianluca Cedolia202,000
8Doug Polk971,000
9Liam Allock779,000

The day wasn’t kind to the majority of entrants. Some familiar faces leaving with a bit of conciliation include Nam Le, Christophe De Meulder, Erik Cajelais, Dan Harrington, Jonas Mackoff, Justin Zaki, Griffin Benger, Scott Montgomery, Ryan Riess, and Aaron Steury.

Unable to secure a cash and falling victim to a quick exit were a huge number of pros. Liv Boeree, Greg Raymer, Loni Harwood, Moshin Charania, Tony Dunst, Vanessa Selbst, Allen Cunnigham, Jonathan Roy, Xuan Liu, Sorel Mizzi, Jason Duval, Ryan Hall, Mark Radoja, Joseph Cheong, Olivier Busquet, Brandon Cantu, Phil Laak, Will Failla, and Scott Clements, to name a few.

Play will resume on Tuesday at 1 P.M. in the Amazon room, where we will play down to a champion. As always, PokerNews will be there bringing you live hand-for-hand coverage till a winner is crowned.

Tags: Doug PolkTony Gregg