2019 World Series of Poker

Event #86: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em 6-Handed Championship
Day: 2
Event Info

2019 World Series of Poker

Final Results
Winning Hand
Event Info
Prize Pool
Level Info
80,000 / 160,000

Agarwal Bags Chip Lead After Fast-Paced Day 2 of $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em 6-Handed Championship

Level 20 : 8,000/16,000, 16,000 ante
Anuj Agarwal
Anuj Agarwal

Anuj Agarwal will lead 16 hopefuls to Day 3, after he bagged the chip lead in Event #86: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em 6-Handed Championship at the 2019 World Series of Poker with 2,171,000 in chips. His closest followers are Markus Gonsalves (1,777,000) and Jeffrey Trudeau (1,651,000). Agarwal has the best position to claim the top prize of $630,747 while all players are already guaranteed to take home at least $28,618.

Other players that bagged over the average of 1 million chips include Eric Kurtzman (1,311,000), Vicent Bosca Ramon (1,125,000), Alan Goehring (1,102,000), Lauren Roberts (1,100,000), and Kahle Burns (1,056,000). The only bracelet winners who are left in the hunt are Ben Heath (937,000) and short stack Gal Yifrach (319,000).

Day 2 Action

The day started with plenty of new entries. A total of 24 players registered the tournament as late as possible and they joined at the start of Day 2. The total number of entries was brought up to 272. Among the latest entries were familiar faces like Preben Stokkan, Scott Seiver, Brandon Adams, and defending champion Shaun Deeb. The new players started with 60,000 in the first level of the day which was 30 big blinds with the big blind at 2,000.

Plenty of players didn't have the luxury of starting with 30 big blinds and they started with less. Because of this, a fleury of eliminations happened right out of the gate. Sam Soverel was one of the early eliminations when he lost with pocket queens against ace-jack suited. An ace fell on the turn and Soverel was sent packing. Other eliminations throughout the day include Daniel Negreanu, 2013 Main Event champion Ryan Riess, Romain Lewis, Sam Greenwood, David Peters, 2019 POY front runner Robert Campbell, and many more.

Only 41 players would walk away with some money and the last player to be sent home empty-handed was the always smiling Mustapha Kanit. Kanit even cheered on David Stamm when he doubled through Dominik Nitsche on the first hand of hand-for-hand play. Kanit busted in the next hand with queen-ten against the ace-king of Steve Sung. All the other players were guaranteed to win at least $15,111 from that point onwards.

Mustapha Kanit
Mustapha Kanit bubbled

The speed of play didn't slow down after the bubble burst. There were plenty of notable players left in the field and naturally some busted out. Alex Foxen (37th - $15,111), Bryn Kenney (32nd - $16,926), Paul Volpe (29th - $19,565), start-of-day chip leader Felix Bleiker (28th - $19,565), Anson Tsang (26th - $19,565), Jason Koon (23rd - $23,315), and Marton Czuczor (18th - $28,618) all busted out before they bagged for Day 3.

Defending champion Deeb registered as late as possible for the event and he almost made it through to Day 3. He already bagged a big stack in 'The Closer' and was looking to multi-table Day 2 of that tournament and Day 3 of this tournament. Unfortunately for Deeb, he busted out in the last level of the day. Deeb couldn't win a coin flip with king-queen against the pocket eights of Goehring.

Play will continue on Monday, July 15, in the Amazon room of the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino at 2 p.m. local time. The plan is to play down to six players tomorrow but that is subject to change.

Make sure to keep an eye on PokerNews for all the World Series of Poker coverage while the series builds up to those last few crucial bracelet victories.

Tags: Alan GoehringAlex FoxenAnson TsangAnuj AgarwalBen HeathBrandon AdamsBryn KenneyDaniel NegreanuDavid PetersDavid StammDominik NitscheEric KurtzmanGal YifrachJason KoonJeffrey TrudeauKahle BurnsLauren RobertsMarkus GonsalvesMarton CzuczorMustapha KanitPaul VolpePreben StokkanRobert CampbellRomain LewisRyan RiessSam GreenwoodSam SoverelScott SeiverShaun DeebSteve SungVicent BoscaVicent Bosca Ramon