Live Events 1
Event #33: $800 Eight-Handed No-Limit Hold'em Deepstack

Bracelet Winner Ryan Laplante, and Todd Ivens Highlight Day 2 of Event #33: $800 Eight-Handed NLHE Deepstack

Ryan Laplante

Day 2 of Event #33: $800 Eight-Handed NLHE Deepstack begins today with 159 players competing for the first-place prize of $269,478. WSOP bracelet winner Ryan Laplante (650,000) remains in contention. With more than two million in earnings, Laplante won his first bracelet at the 2016 WSOP $565 Pot-Limit Omaha (Event #12).

Todd Ivens finished the day among the leaders, bagging a whopping stack of 2,030,000 from a starting stack of just 40,000.

Ivens has multiple World Series of Poker cashes to his name, including two final tables back in 2018. The Illinois native is still looking for that elusive WSOP gold bracelet and he's hoping to do that in the coming days. Ivens finished third in chips, behind Alex Miles who bagged 2,700,000, and Tony Nguyen who will return with 2,185,000 chips.

Some other notables moving on to Day 2 include Mukul Pahuja (1,605,000), Ian Steinman (1,320,000), Haven Werner (955,000), and Matt Affleck (840,000).

A total of 2,778 entries were recorded, exceeding the numbers put up in this same event two years ago. Just 417 players made it to the money with a min-cash being worth $1,282. The bustouts were fast and furious once the bubble burst with players like Gal Yifrach, Jesse Sylvia, Joao Vieira, Koray Aldemir, and Joao Simao all hitting the payout desk on their way out.

Day 2 will get underway at 12 p.m. local time inside the Amazon Room where the remaining players will look to reach the final table. Play will continue until just five players remain, and a bracelet winner will be decided on Day 3 of the tournament.

The PokerNews live reporting team will have all of the updates throughout the tournament so keep it locked here to see who will become a WSOP champion.

Tags: Alex MilesGal YifrachHaven WernerIan SteinmanJesse SylviaJoao SimaoJoao VieiraKoray AldemirMatt AffleckMukul PahujaRyan LaplanteTodd IvensTony Nguyen