2017 World Series of Poker

Event #42: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em 6-Handed Championship
Days: 2

Charlie Carrel Leads Final 24 Players in Event #42: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em 6-Handed Championship

Level 20 : 8,000-16,000, 2,000 ante
Charlie Carrel
Charlie Carrel

A total of 332 players put up $10,000 to take their shot in Event #42: $10,000 No-Limit Hold’em 6-Handed Championship. After two days of play, only 24 players still have hopes to win gold in this event.

The Day 2 field was packed with poker talent and it was Charlie Carrel who closed the day with the chip lead after bagging up 1,500,000. Despite much online and EPT success, Carrel has yet to capture his first WSOP bracelet. He is in good position to battle for it going into Day 3 with the chip lead.

Other players to bag over 1,000,000 chips were Albert Daher (1,418,000), Chi Zhang (1,347,000), Tommy Chen (1,191,000), Dmitry Yurasov (1,111,000). Other big names bringing stacks into Day 3 include Connor Drinan (822,000), Dario Sammartino (755,000), Sam Stein (690,000), Eric Wasserson (600,000), Goran Mandic (568,000), Kristen Bicknell (504,000), Joe Elpayaa (291,000), and Steven Iglesias (160,000).

Hand-for-hand play began after the dinner break and the money bubble burst toward the end of that level when Goran Mandic came from behind to eliminate Lyle Vincent with {J-Clubs}{10-Spades} against Vincent's {A-Diamonds}{J-Hearts}. The remaining 50 players were in the money with a minimum payout of $15,091.

The bustouts happened quickly in the following level and slowed down a bit towards the end of the night. Many top pros hit the wayside in the money including Jonathan Jaffe (47th place for $15,516), Rainer Kempe (44th place for $15,516), Chris Ferguson (43rd place for $15,516), Ben Yu ($16,580), Sam Trickett (37th place for $16,580), Sam Grafton (35th place for $18,386), Olivier Busquet (32nd place for $18,386), and Dan Smith (29th for $21,131).

Several talented players were unfortunate to hit the rail on Day 2 before the money was reached including Phil Hellmuth, James Obst, ElkY Grospellier, John Racener, Adrian Mateos, Mike Watson, Tony Gregg, Ben Tollerene, Ankush Mandavia, Jeff Gross, Joshua Beckley, Joe Kuether, and Matt Glantz.

All players returning for the 2 p.m. restart are guaranteed at least a payout of $25,139 and the winner will receive $775,923 to go with the gold bracelet.

RoomtableSeatPlayerCountryChip CountBig Blinds
Brasilia7101Albert DaherLebanon1,418,00071
Brasilia7102Jacob PowersUnited States365,00018
Brasilia7103Taylor von KriegenberghUnited States416,00021
Brasilia7104Connor DrinanUnited States822,00041
Brasilia7105Xixiang LuoChina921,00046
Brasilia7112Dario SammartinoItaly755,00038
Brasilia7113Boris KolevBulgaria270,00014
Brasilia7114Chi ZhangUnited Kingdom1,347,00067
Brasilia7115Joseph ElpayaaUnited States291,00015
Brasilia7116Dmitry YurasovRussia1,111,00056
Brasilia7121William StevensonUnited States347,00017
Brasilia7122Grayson RamageUnited States628,00031
Brasilia7124Amit MakhijaUnited States772,00039
Brasilia7126Ivan DeyraFrance877,00044
Brasilia7131Kristen BicknellCanada504,00025
Brasilia7132Charlie CarrelUnited Kingdom1,560,00078
Brasilia7133Tommy ChenUnited States1,191,00060
Brasilia7135Romain LewisUnited Kingdom449,00022
Brasilia7136Goran MandicCroatia568,00028
Brasilia7141Artem MetalidiUkraine379,00019
Brasilia7142Sam SteinUnited States690,00035
Brasilia7143Thomas MuehloeckerAustria191,00010
Brasilia7144Eric WassersonUnited States600,00030
Brasilia7145Steven IglesiasNorway160,0008