AU$5,000 Challenge

George Mitri Leads the $5K Challenge into Day 2

Mateusz_Pater • Level 15: 4,000-8,000, 8,000 ante
George Mitri Bags Chip Lead After Day 1

After fifteen 45-minute levels were played out in the first day of the $5,000 Challenge Event, George Mitri will return as the Day 2 chip leader after he bagged an impressive 709,000.

A field of 203 players came together, and 15 of them will return on Friday, November 29, at 2:15 p.m. local time. The field narrowly missed the needed 211 to pass the $1,000,000 guarantee resulting in a slight overlay.

Trailing Mitri are James Obst (534,000) and Honglin Jiang (455,000) who round out the top three. Shivan Abdine (435,000), Adrian Attenborough (333,000), Marc Camphausen (326,000) and Sosia Jiang (138,000) all progressed through.

Big names to depart throughout the day and miss out on the top 21 and a payday included; defending champion of this event Matthew Wakeman, 2011 WSOP Europe Main Event champion Andrew Hinrichsen, last year’s WSOP Circuit Main Event Sydney champion Alex Lynskey, 2017 Aussie Millions Main Event champion Shurane Vijayaram, 2019 WPT Gold Coast Main Event champion Hari Varma, and WSOP bracelet winner Jarred Graham.

Gary Benson and Emmanuel Seal would both be eliminated at the same time on separate tables and ultimately bubble the money. Both would be holding ace-king and find themselves unable to improve against their opponents pocket pairs. Their eliminations would guarantee the remaining 21 players an $11,080 return.

Those to make the money but miss Day 2 include Dean Blatt, Jonathan Karamalikis, David Hanlon, Josh Mitchell and Robert Spano.

When play resumes the blinds will begin at 5,000/10,000/10,000 big blind ante. PokerNews will be back with all the $5K Challenge Day 2 action as the remaining 15 players battle for a place at the final table before playing down to an eventual champion.

Day 2 Seat Draw

TableSeatPlayerCountryChip CountBig Blinds
321Ryan BowndsAustralia28400028
323Ehsan AmiriAustralia32700033
324Chao DuanChina29400029
325George MitriAustralia70900071
326Charlie HaweAustralia44700045
327Adrian AttenboroughAustralia33300033
328Michael DoumaniAustralia16500017
312Vincent HuangAustralia33900034
313Honglin JiangNew Zealand45500046
314James ObstAustralia53400053
315Tam TruongAustralia28500029
316Sosia JiangNew Zealand13800014
317Marc CamphausenGermany32600033
318Shivan AbdineAustralia43500044
319Partick LaoyontAustralia100001

Tags: Adrian AttenboroughAlex LynskeyAndrew HinrichsenDavid HanlonDean BlattEmmanuel SealGary BensonGeorge MitriHari VarmaHonglin JiangJames ObstJarred GrahamJonathan KaramalikisJosh MitchellMarc CamphausenMatthew WakemanRobert SpanoShivan AbdineShurane VijayaramSosia Jiang