World Series of Poker Europe

PokerStars European Poker Tour Warsaw Day 4: Luca Pagano Highlights Sunday's Final Table

Luca Pagano

The final table was reached on Saturday at the 2009 European Poker Tour Warsaw after the elimination of Alexander Debus in ninth place. Leading the way into the fifth and final day of action will be Oleksandr Vaserfirer holding 1.854 million chips. Headlining the final table will be Italian professional Luca Pagano. This will be the fifth final table and twelfth cash at an EPT event for the member of Team PokerStars PRO.

The day began with twenty-four players returning to action, all of who were guaranteed at least some money having broken the money bubble the night before. Shaun Deeb, Vitaly Lunkin, Antony Lellouche, and Peter Hedlund were among those that returned, but all made their way to the exit in the first few hours.

Former chess prodigy and chip leader coming into the day Jeff Sarwer was also eliminated short of the final table, taking tenth place. Sarwer lost a massive pot early on for 1.2 million chips when Vaserfirer’s {A-Spades}{K-Hearts} out-flipped his {8-Hearts}{8-Spades}. The two players were all in preflop with the board running out {A-Hearts}{7-Diamonds}{2-Clubs}{10-Spades}{7-Clubs}.

It was Vaserfirer that also sent Sarwer to the rail a couple hours later in another coinflip situation. This time is was Sarwer holding {A-Spades}{K-Clubs} and Vaserfirer the underpair with two queens. Sarwer managed to take the lead on the {A-Hearts}{10-Diamonds}{6-Spades} flop, but after a {10-Spades} turn, the {Q-Hearts} spiked on the river to send Sarwer packing.

The players were then moved to one nine-handed table and shortly thereafter, Debus was sent home when he ran into the pocket queens of Pagano. Claiming the final elimination of the day put him in second place, capping off an amazing recovery for Pagano as he came into the day with one of the shorter stacks in the room.

Here’s the official chip counts and seating assignments for Sunday’s final table.

Seat 1: Luca Pagano – 984,000
Seat 2: Anatoly Gurtoyov – 332,000
Seat 3: Oleksandr Vaserfirer – 1,854,000
Seat 4: Alexander Klimashin – 266,000
Seat 5: Clayton Mozdzen – 978,000
Seat 6: Ruslan Prydryk – 658,000
Seat 7: Alfio Battisti – 552,000
Seat 8: Christophe Benzimra – 465,000

The final table will begin at 1:00 p.m. local time on Sunday. Can Vaserfirer ride his chip lead to victory or will Pagano use his EPT experience to take home the title? Be sure to join us right here on PokerNews to find out who will be crowned champion!

Follow us on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news, and also become our fan on Facebook.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories