World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

2011 Aussie Millions Event #6 Day 1: Final Two Tables Set; Richard Ashby Wins Event #5; $25,000 Shootout Invitational

Aussie Millions

Two events kicked off on day eight of the 2011 Aussie Millions, and in another one, a winner was crowned. Getting under way first was Event #6, the $1,100 No-Limit Hold'em Six-Handed. That event saw 373 players enter, creating a prize pool of AUD$372,000, with AUD$81,370 of it going to first place.

Peter Jetten, Scott Montgomery, Tony Hachem, Simon Watt, Sorel Mizzi, Neil Channing, Ben Delaney, Stewart Scott, and 2010 Aussie Millions 6-Max winner, Kristian Lunardi were among the players who entered, but failed to see Day 2. The money bubble burst around midnight, leaving 36 players to take home at least AUD$2,015.

After 12 hours of play, two tables are left to battle it out on Friday for the title and gold ring. Leading the way, with a dominating chip lead, is Tim O'Shea, who bagged 857,000 in chips. He's followed by Andrew Hinrichsen with 541,000. Also in the final 12, is Daniel Neilson, who just the day before, played the final table of Event #4, the $1,100 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout, finishing in ninth place.

The final 12 will converge upon the Crown Poker Room at 2:00 p.m. local time Friday to play for all the glory.

Event #5: $1,100 8-Game Mix

After two days of play, and 67 eliminations, one player was left standing in Event #5, Richard Ashby. Ashby is certainly no newcomer and he's been to the Aussie Millions plenty of times before. In fact, Ashby's first Aussie Millions title was way back in 2005 when he won a $200 No-Limit Hold'em side event.

Event #5 Results

1. Richard Ashby - AUD$23,800
2. Bruno Portaro - AUD$16,320
3. Casey Kastle - AUD$10,880
4. Daniel Ospina - AUD$6,800
5. Oliver Gill - AUD$4,760
6. Dane Coltman - AUD$3,400
7. Paul Ravesi - AUD$2,040

Full Tilt Poker $25,000 Shootout Invitational

Full Tilt Poker is hosting a $25,000 Shootout Invitational in Melbourne, Australia, at the 2011 Aussie Millions. Patrik Antonius, Phil Ivey, Annette Obrestad, Tony G, Tom Dwan, and Andy Bloch are on the superstar roster of 24 players who were invited to take part in the event.

Two heats were completed on Thursday night, with David Oppenheim, Barny Boatman, Patrik Antonius, and James Bord making it through to the finals. One more heat will play out at 2 p.m. local time Friday and the final will be held at 7 p.m.

[There are plenty of events left at the Aussie Millions, so keep it locked to PokerNews as the Live Reporting Team will be bringing you all the action that comes out of the Crown Poker Room, and as always, follow us on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news.

Want to rail the biggest games in the world? Not only will you get a $600 sign-up bonus at Full Tilt Poker, new depositors also get to play in a $100,000 First Deposit Freeroll. — so you can play while you watch!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories