World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

Recapping Season 7 of the PokerStars European Poker Tour

European Poker Tour

It’s no secret that the PokerStars European Poker Tour is the cream of the crop when it comes to poker tournament series around the world. Since the first season in 2004-2005, the EPT has handed out some of the largest prizes around and made thousands of players famous. The seventh season was no different.

Last August, the seventh season of the prestigious EPT kicked off in Tallinn, Estonia. After 13 stops, 9,388 entries and over €50,000,000 in prize money awarded in the Main Events, another extremely successful season of the EPT is in the books.

Out of the bunch, Galen Hall scooped the largest first-place prize after winning the largest event on the tour, the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure. Hall bested a field of 1,560 players to claim the lion’s share of the $15.132 million prize pool for a whopping $2.3 million. In the tour’s massive conclusion event, Ivan Freitez secured €1.5 million for winning the Grand Final in Madrid. Hall and Freitez weren’t the only winners, though. The table shown below gives you a look at all the Main Event winners in Season 7.

TallinnKevin Stani420€400,000
VilamouraToby Lewis384€467,836
LondonDavid Vamplew848£900,000
ViennaMichael Elier587€700,000
BarcelonaKent Lundmark758€825,000
PragueRoberto Romanello563€640,000
PCAGalen Hall1,560$2,300,000
DeauvilleLucien Cohen891€880,000
CopenhagenMichael Tureniec449€328,612
SnowfestVladimir Geshkenbein482€390,000
BerlinBen Wilinofsky773€825,000
San RemoRupert Elder987€930,000
Grand Final MadridIvan Freitez686€1,500,000

Joining us along the ride of Season 7 was Sarah Grant and Laura Cornelius armed with our video cameras of course. You can watch their season recap in the following video:

Main Events weren’t the only attraction for players on the tour. A few select High Roller events won players some massive prizes. Those included London High Roller, PCA Super High Roller, PCA High Roller and the Grand Final High Roller. As you can see in the table below, the list of winners from those events is full of poker superstars, included three who are now Team PokerStars Pros.

£20,500 London High RollerJose “Nacho” Barbero77£556,000
$100,000 PCA Super High RollerEugene Katchalov38$1,500,000
$25,000 PCA High RollerWill Molson151$1,072,850
€25,500 Grand Final High RollerBertrand “ElkY” Grospellier58€525,000

The EPT also has a Player of the Year Award, which was won in a landslide this year by Fernando Brito. He finished the season with a whopping 4,135 points. That’s 1,500 more points than second-place finisher Martin Jacobson. The table below shows you how Brito was able to earn so many points.

EPT Vilamoura €1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo2nd - €11,737
EPT Vilamoura €1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Bounty2nd - €5,820
EPT London Main Event6th - £145,000
EPT London £1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo Bounty1st - £16,760
EPT Vienna €10,000 No-Limit Hold’em1st - €90,000
EPT Barcelona €10,000 High Roller1st - €127,500
EPT Prague Main Event32nd - €12,500
EPT Prague €1,000 Turbo Bounty1st – €11,200
PCA $2,000 No-Limit Hold’em23rd - $7,390
EPT Deauville €1,500 No-Limit Hold’em20th - €2,270
EPT Copenhagen DKr 15,000 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo Bounty1st – DKr 107,640
EPT San Remo €2,000 No-Limit Hold’em29th - €3,400
EPT San Remo €10,000 No-Limit Hold’em5th - €42,000
EPT Grand Final Main Event37th - €30,000

Beyond just having an overall Player of the Year Award, the EPT has numerous awards that they give out each season. This year, there were seven other awards given out. Each of the individual winners of an award receives a full prize package for the first event of the eighth season on the EPT.

Omaha Player of the YearDario Alioto
Mixed Game Player of the YearMatthew Ashton
Heads-Up Player of the YearDiogo Veiga
Country of the YearIreland
Online Qualifier of the YearMartin Jacobson
Achievement of the YearMax Heinzelmann
Players’ Choice AwardMax Heinzelmann

If that’s still not enough, Season 7 of the EPT marked the first time the Champion of Champions event was held. Fifty past EPT champions took part in a €100,000 freeroll that was eventually won by Jason Mercier, who might just be winning everything he plays these days. Mercier bested Hall to take the title and €50,000 first-place prize.

With Season 7 complete, everyone is anxious to see what Season 8 has to offer. We’ll be sure to bring the latest EPT news to you right here on PokerNews and you can also check out the EPT’s website for tournament information.

Be sure to follow us on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories