World Series of Poker Europe

2011 European Poker Tour London Day 4: Bergstrom Leads Final 24

Mattias Bergstrom

Day 4 concluded on Tuesday at the 2011 European Poker Tour London Poker Festival Main Event with 24 players remaining. Leading the way is Mattias Bergstrom with 1.838 million in chips.

Neil Pearce was the last player eliminated before action came to a halt for the day. He finished in 25th place and went out at the hands of Jeremy Kottler. Pearce was all-in preflop holding pocket sevens, up against Kottler holding queens. No help came on the flop, turn or river, and Pearce was off to the payout desk while Kottler raked in the pot. He bagged 1.693 million for the night, putting him in fourth place overall heading into Day 5.

Pearce wasn't the only player to go on Day 4. When play began, 62 players remained. Some of those to fall on the day included Barny Boatman (57th), Jamie Rosen (49th), Daniel Neilson (45th), Marvin Rettenmaier (41st), Steven Kelly (39th) and Roberto Romanello (37th).

A few Team PokerStars Pros also hit the rail: Ana Marquez (42nd), Humberto Brenes (32nd) and Salvatore Bonavena (29th).

Bonavena was the last Team Pro to hit the rail and was eliminated by Basile Yaiche. Bonavena was all-in preflop with {K-Clubs}{10-Hearts} against Yaiche's two fours. Although he flopped a king, Bonavena couldn't stave elimination as a four fell on the river to give Yaiche a winning set. There is still one Team Pro remaining in the field — Juan Manuel Pastor from Spain. He'll go into Day 5 with just under one million in chips at 960,000.

Joao Barbosa, winner of EPT Warsaw in 2008, Benny Spindler, James Mitchell, 2010 Irish Open champion, Kevin Iacofono, Martins Adeniya and Steve O'Dwyer[/b] have also made it to Day 5. Sebastian Blom, brother of Viktor Blom, will be the shortest stack returning with 59,000 in chips.

Day 5 Table and Seat Draw

11Sebastian Blom59,000
12Jeremy Kottler1,693,000
13Anatoly Gurtovoy873,000
14Hugo Loureiro564,000
15Martins Adeniya764,000
16Ioannis Beris311,000
17Adria Balaguer1,828,000
18Kevin Iacofano1,112,000
21Mattias Bergstrom1,838,000
22Andries Swart254,000
23James Mitchell869,000
24Joao Barbosa601,000
25Aadam Daya372,000
26Pascal Hartmann1,800,000
27Basile Yaiche1,105,000
28Stephen O'Dwyer792,000
31Fowzi Baroukh133,000
32Ben Jenkins760,000
33Andre Klebanov1,337,000
34Per Hildebrand398,000
35Juan Manuel Pastor960,000
36Justas Semaska488,000
37Miroslav Benes377,000
38Benny Spindler1,421,000

The final 24 players will return Wednesday at 1200 BST (0400 PDT) for another day of play as the tournament moves toward the final table. Once the final eight are set, play will end for the day. Be sure to return to PokerNews for all of the live coverage.

Follow us on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories