World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

Aussie Millions Announces Tournament of Champions to Celebrate 10th Anniversary

Stewart Scott

The 2012 Aussie Millions Poker Championship kicked off Thursday with the $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Opening Event. Crown officials told PokerNews that in celebration of the Aussie Millions’ 10th anniversary, a special Tournament of Champions will be held on Saturday, Jan. 21 — the day before the Main Event.

Tournament officials have confirmed that eight of the nine Aussie Millions champions will attend. Alexander Kostritsyn, 2008 winner, will not be able to attend.

The eight players who will attend are Peter Costa (2003), Tony Bloom (2004), Jamil Dia (2005), Lee Nelson (2006), Gus Hansen (2007), Stewart Scott (2009), Tyron Krost (2010), and David Gorr (2011).

The champions will compete for a “golden ticket,” which will award the winner a lifetime of buy-ins to the Aussie Millions Main Event.

“I’m really excited about having all of the former champions return to celebrate our 10th anniversary,” said Christian Vaughan, tournament director at Crown. “This will be the first time Jamil Dia has been back since his win in 2005 and we haven’t seen Peter Costa in many years. It’s thrilling to have all these great players under the same roof and battling it out for a lifetime freeroll at the Aussie Millions.”

The 2012 Aussie Millions features 26 events and runs through Jan. 30. Be sure to visit the PokerNews Live Reporting section for all the action from the felt.

Stay up to date on all the latest news by following us on Twitter and liking us on Facebook.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories