World Series of Poker Europe

2015 Aussie Millions Main Event Day 1a: Suchanek Leads Survivors; Barer Sits in Third

Jan Suchanek

The 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event has been called the Southern Hemisphere's most prestigious tournament, and rightfully so. On Sunday, players from around the world flocked to Crown Melbourne for the first of three starting flights. Day 1a attracted 183 players — up from last year's 175 — and after seven 90-minute levels, 97 remained with Jan Suchanek and his stack of 163,400 leading the way. Suchanek has seven top-three finishes in Aussie Millions events over the last five years, including victory in a $1,100 eight-game event back in 2012.

While many of the game's biggest names like Phil Ivey, Patrik Antonius, and Scott Seiver were busy across the room playing the $100,000 Challenge, others were busy battling for a spot on Day 2 of the Main Event. Among those to survive the night with big stacks were Joakim Backlund and defending champion Ami Barer, who is primed for a title defense after finishing the night third in chips.

Day 1a Top 10 Chip Counts

1Jan Suchanek163,400
2Joakim Backlund148,900
3Ami Barer142,900
4Rahul Byrraju137,600
5Joe Reina121,900
6Mikel Habb114,500
7Rahul Rastogi102,300
8Ismael Bojang98,700
9Jonas Mackoff91,700
10Heinz Kamutzki91,600

Day 1a started slow, but eventually Manny Rodriguez earned the distinction of being the first player eliminated from the 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event. Obviously, he would not be the last. Others who joined him on the rail throughout the day included Ben Wilinofsky, Maria Ho, Jason Wheeler, Matthew Ashton, Brian Roberts, David Yan, Chris Moorman, Martin Finger, 2012 Aussie Millions runner-up Joseph Cabret, and 2011 champ Oliver Speidel.

Speidel, who topped a field of 659 players to win AU$1.6 million three years back, fell in Level 6 (250/500/75) when he got his last 8,000 all in preflop holding {a-}{j-} and was racing against the pocket tens of Marc MacDonnell. Speidel came up empty, and his hopes of becoming the tournament's first two-time winner came to an end.

Likewise, 2006 champ Lee Nelson fell in the last level of the night after four-bet jamming his last 15,000 in holding the {a-Clubs}{j-Clubs} only to run into the {k-}{k-} of Raiden Kan. Nelson failed to get lucky, and his exit left Barer and 2011 champion David Gorr as the only former champs remaining in the field. Gorr went on to bag up 42,200.

Others who managed to punch their ticket to Day 2 were World Series of Poker Asia-Pacific runner-up Jack Salter (85,400); WSOP bracelet winner Andrew Hincirchsen (89,000); 2014 WSOP Main Event runner-up Felix Stephensen (82,000); Australian Poker Hall of Fame member Jeff Lisandro (54,700); last year's third-place finisher Jake Balsiger (46,800); and Australia's pride and joy, 2005 WSOP Main Event champion Joe Hachem (13,400).

Day 1b of the 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event will begin at 12:30 p.m. local time on Monday. Players will once again play seven 90-minute levels, and the PokerNews Live Reporting team will be there every step of the way to bring your all the action and eliminations straight from the floor of the Crown Poker Room.

While you wait, check out our video on the great city of Melbourne:

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories