Josh Arieh, Kathy Liebert & Brian Rast Among 2022 Poker Hall of Fame Finalists

poker hall of fame

The fan votes are in and the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame Class has been solidified, and the new names on the list this year are Josh Arieh, Kathy Liebert and Brian Rast.

Fans nominated the three poker players over a two-week voting period on the World Series of Poker (WSOP) website. They will join seven other nominees who the current Hall of Famers will vote on to determine the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame inductee. The full list includes:

  • Josh Arieh
  • Layne Flack
  • Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier
  • Kathy Liebert
  • Mike Matusow
  • Lon McEachern & Norman Chad
  • Michael Mizrachi
  • Brian Rast
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg

The Newcomers

Among the players to become eligible this year is Rast, a five-time bracelet winner with $22.7 million in Hendon Mob-reported earnings who turned 40 since last year's WSOP.

Rast earned his fifth bracelet and $474,102 in Event #51: $3,000 6-Handed No-Limit Hold’em at the 2021 WSOP, putting him on the prestigious list of five-time winners that includes Shaun Deeb, Scotty Nguyen, Jason Mercier and fellow 2022 Hall of Fame nominee Mizrachi.

Arieh, another new nominee, won his third and fourth bracelets at last year's WSOP in the $1,500 Pot-Limit Omaha 8-Handed and the $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha Hi-Lo Championship for a combined $689,557.

By the end of the series, Arieh, who has $10.5 million in live earnings, had cashed 11 events to earn him the title of 2021 Player of the Year, beating out the likes of Phil Hellmuth, Daniel Negreanu and Deeb.

Josh Arieh
Josh Arieh

Liebert, who is already a member of the Women in Poker Hall of Fame, has $6.5 million in earnings to put her first on Tennessee's all-time money list. Liebert earned her first and only bracelet to date in at the 2004 WSOP in $1,500 Limit Hold'em Shootout event, while she had a runner-up finish in the same event the year before and back in 1997.

Returning Names

The 2022 Poker Hall of Fame nominee list includes seven names who have been here before, including Michael Mizrachi, Bertrand "ElkY" Grospellier and Layne Flack, all of whom were fan nominees last year, as well as perennial candidate Mike Matusow.

Mike Matusow
Mike Matusow

Best Free to Play Slots

The list also includes a number of industry professionals, including iconic commentators Lon McEachern & Norman Chad, who are nominated as a duo, famed tournament director Matt Savage and PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg.

Last year's inductee was Eli Elezra, a fan favorite with four bracelets and $4.6 million in live earnings.

The 2022 inductee will be chosen during an induction ceremony held on Sunday, July 10 at Bally’s & Paris Las Vegas in tandem with the final table of the Main Event.

The criteria required for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame includes:

  • Must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes, consistently well and stood the test of time
  • For non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Current Members of the Poker Hall of Fame

Tom Abdo1982Barry Greenstein2011Johnny Moss1979
Crandell Addington2005Jennifer Harman2015Daniel Negreanu2014
Bobby Baldwin2003Dan Harrington2010Scotty Nguyen2013
Billy Baxter2006Murph Harrold1984David Oppenheim2019
Lyle Berman2002Phil Hellmuth2007Henry Orenstein2008
Joe Bernstein1983John Hennigan2018Walter "Puggy" Pearson1987
Benny Binion1990James Butler "Wild Bill" Hickok1979Julius Oral Popwell1996
Jack Binion2005Red Hodges1985Thomas Austin "Amarillo Slim" Preston1992
Bill Boyd1981Edmond Hoyle1979David "Chip" Reese1991
Doyle Brunson1988Phil Ivey2017Brian "Sailor" Roberts2012
Todd Brunson2016Linda Johnson2011Huck Seed2020
Johnny Chan2002Berry Johnston2004Erik Seidel2010
T.J. Cloutier2006John Juanda2015Mike Sexton2009
Nick Dandolos1979Jack Keller1993Jack "Treetop" Straus1988
Eric Drache2012Jack McClelland2014Dewey Tomko2008
Barbara Enright2007Felton McCorquodale1979David "Devilfish" Ulliott2017
Mori Eskandani2018Tom McEvoy2013Stu Ungar2001
Fred "Sarge" Ferris1989Chris Moneymaker2019Red Winn1979
Henry Green1986Roger Moore1997Sid Wyman1979
T "Blondie" Forbes1980Carlos Mortensen2016Eli Elezra2021
2022 World Series of Poker Hub

Bookmark this page! All you need to know about the 2022 WSOP is here.

  • Josh Arieh, Brian Rast and Kathy Liebert are among the ten nominees for the Poker Hall of Fame.

Name Surname
Editor & Live Reporter U.S.

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Brian Rast Wins Fifth Bracelet; Sets Sights on Poker Hall of Fame Brian Rast Wins Fifth Bracelet; Sets Sights on Poker Hall of Fame