Foxen, Racener & Singh Win WPT Seminole Hard Rock Tampa Side Event Titles

shr tampa poker

The Seminole Hard Rock Tampa hosted a 32-event World Poker Tour series from August 25 to September 7, and it was a rousing success with $10.5 million paid out to those who cashed over that two-week period.

It all came to an end on Wednesday with Corey Wade winning the highlight event of the series — the $3,500 buy-in WPT Main Event — for $471,686 — beating out a field of 1,165 entrants, which was oddly enough to exact same turnout as a year ago.

The tournament had a $1 million guaranteed prize pool, but that was completely obliterated. In fact, the guarantee was surpassed before the first break of the first of two Day 1 starting flights. When registration closed the following day (September 3), the pot hit just north of $3.7 million, nearly quadruple the original guarantee.

Here is a list of a couple of the biggest winners from the WPT Seminole Hard Rock Tampa series.

Foxen Wins Another One

Alex Foxen
Alex Foxen

In Event #17: $1,700 No-Limit Hold’em, there were 145 entries creating a $217,500 prize pool, nearly triple the $75,000 guarantee. That was par for the course during the WPT Seminole Hard Rock Tampa series – huge prize pools.

In this tournament, it was a familiar face taking a winner’s photo. Alex Foxen, the 2018 and 2019 GPI Player of the Year and a 2022 WSOP bracelet champion, won yet another poker tournament, this one for $53,920 and a shiny WPT trophy.

Foxen, a former college football player at Boston College, defeated Clemen Dong ($35,950) heads-up to win the title. He now has $26.7 million in live tournament cashes, according to Hendon Mob. Maurice Hawkins (third place for $25,500), a WSOP Circuit crusher, also reached the final table.

Event #17: $1,700 NLH Final Table Results

1Alex Foxen$53,920
2Clemen Dong$35,950
3Maurice Hawkins$25,500
4Brandon Hamlett$18,510
5Ryan Hogan$13,760
6Romel Mendoza$10,480

Corey Wade Claims $470K Score, First WPT Main Tour Victory

Singh Wins Second Event of the Series

Raminder Singh
Raminder Singh

Event #13: $600 No-Limit Hold’em, a re-entry tournament, had a $30,000 guarantee. When registration closed, the pot had $84,525 in it from 161 entrants, nearly tripling the guarantee. At the end of the day, only one player was still standing, and that was Raminder Singh, who won his second title of the series.

Singh was paid $22,475 and a WPT trophy for winning Event #13. He also took down Event #6: $400 No-Limit Hold’em Turbo for $7,086, beating out 84 entrants in that one.

At the final table, Singh was heads up against Daniel Couzens, and he came out victorious in the end. Couzens received $14,720 as a consolation prize, while Aaron Thivyanathan took third place for $8,670.

Event #13: $600 NLH Final Table Results

1Raminder Singh$22,475
2Daniel Couzens$14,720
3Aaron Thivyanathan$8,670
4Shane Melert$5,280
5Jordan DeGrenier$4,070
6Howard Leung$3,380

Check out the WPT Hub on PokerNews here!

Former WSOP Main Event Runner-Up Wins $25K High Roller

john racener shr tampa
John Racener

John Racener, who finished runner-up to Jonathan Duhamel in the 2010 World Series of Poker Main Event, crushed it again this past week, but this time he was the last player standing. In Event #18: $25,500 No-Limit Hold'em High Roller, the Florida native beat out a field of 25 entrants to win $246,990.

According to Hendon Mob, Racener now has just over $11 million in live tournament cashes. He defeated a tough final table that included Brock Wilson (second place for $154,380) and 2015 WSOP Main Event champion Joe McKeehen (third place for $98,800).

Event #18: $25,500 No-Limit Hold'em High Roller Final Table Results

1John Racener$246,990
2Brock Wilson$154,380
3Joe McKeehen$98,000
4Anthony Hu$67,930
5Darren Elias$49,400

2022 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Tampa Series Full Results

Clemen Deng
Clemen Deng

Throughout the series, players accumulated points with in-the-money finishes. In the end, Clemen Deng topped the Player of the Festival leaderboard and was awarded a $1,100 WPT Prime Passport. Deng cashed three times at three final tables, including a $158,778 win in the $10,000 No Limit Hold’em High Roller, for a total of 1,175 points to earn the POF honors.

DateBuy InTournamentEntriesPrize PoolWinner1st Place
25-Aug$600No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)4,363$2,268,760Adam Quimby$240,254
25-Aug$400Pot Limit Omaha (Re-Entry)174$58,920Vinny Monteiro$13,135
25-Aug$1,100Six-Handed NLH (Re-Entry)76$73,720Ken Fishman$21,980
26-Aug$250Ladies Event (Re-Entry)123$25,830Nikita Patalinghug$6,566
26-Aug$1,100Eight-Handed NLH (Re-Entry)119$115,430Clyde Maliauka$30,730
27-Aug$400Turbo NLH (Re-Entry)84$33,600Raminder Singh$7,086
28-Aug$400Limit Omaha 8 (Re-Entry)128$42,880Ardit Bitincka$9,666
28-Aug$400No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)296$99,160Michale Hermoza$21,890
28-Aug$1,100No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)162$157,140Kevin Oakes$31,186
28-Aug$400Turbo Mixed PLO (Re-Entry)150$50,250Nick Yuryev$12,460
29-Aug$400Omaha 8/Stud 8 (Re-Entry)101$33,835Jon Miller$9,455
29-Aug$400No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)1,146$383,910Carlos Rodriguez$55,085
29-Aug$600No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)161$84,525Raminder Singh$22,475
30-Aug$400H.O.R.S.E. (Re-Entry)104$34,840Kris Lord$7,045
30-Aug$1,100No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)116$112,520Brandon Wong$33,190
31-Aug$400Seniors 50+ (Re-Entry)317$106,195Jeffrey Nemes$20,383
31-Aug$1,700No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)145$217,500Alex Foxen$53,290
31-Aug$25,500High Roller (Re-Entry)25$617,500John Racener$246,990
1-Sep$2,200No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)204$408,000Jake Ferro$94,490
1-Sep$1,100Turbo PLO (Re-Entry)109$105,730Sean Troha$31,740
2-Sep$3,500WPT Tampa Championship (Re-Entry)1,165$3,728,000Corey Wade$471,686
3-Sep$250Triple Stacks NLH (Re-Entry)313$64,165Alex Alvarez$6,611
3-Sep$600Quad Stack NLH (Re-Entry)67$35,510Kodi McDaniel$12,430
4-Sep$400No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)242$81,070Daniel Tanco$18,800
4-Sep$1,700No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)146$219,000Brett Bader$60,440
4-Sep$1,100Survivor NLH (Re-Entry)50$50,000  
5-Sep$600Deep Stack NLH (Re-Entry) $255,150Brendan Shiller$50,330
5-Sep$1,100No Limit Hold'em (Re-Entry)93$90,210John Gallaher$28,610
5-Sep$10,000High Roller (Re-Entry)62$595,200Clemen Deng$158,778
5-Sep$180Triple Stacks NLH (Re-Entry)171$24,975Collin Wilson$6,495
6-Sep$5,000Eight-Handed NLH (Re-Entry)77$365,750Jim Collopy$87,346

The next stop for the WPT Main Tour is WPT Australia at The Star Gold Coast. The festival begins Sept. 15 and will conclude on Sept. 27. The $5,400 main event of the tour begins on Sept. 23. The winner of WPT Australia will receive a $10,400 seat in the World Championship and Player of the Festival will win a $1,100 WPT Prime Passport.

  • Find out full results for the 2022 @WPT @SHRTampa fall series including all the big winners.

Name Surname
Senior Editor U.S.

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Pressure Mounts as Massive Pay Jumps on Horizon at WPT Tampa Final Table Pressure Mounts as Massive Pay Jumps on Horizon at WPT Tampa Final Table