Main Event

Bryan Huang Leads Final Nine

[user162117] • Level 19: 5,000-10,000, 1,000 ante
Chip leader, Bryan Huang

The latest final table on Season 7 of the Australia New Zealand Poker Tour has been set as just nine players remain in contention for the ANZPT Perth title and the $105,000 top prize.

Leading the way is none other than Team PokerStars Pro Bryan Huang. He dominated the penultimate day of action, finishing up with 779,000 in chips, well ahead of Michael Guzzardi with 537,000.

Huang has been a staple of the Asia-Pacific poker scene for several years, amassing a resume which includes well over US$650,000 in tournament results.

Some of the highlights of his career include winning the 2010 Asia Player of the Year award and posting his largest result of US$153,841 for a third-place finish in the 2008 APPT Macau Main Event.

Huang will be looking to win his first ANZPT title this weekend, but will have to overcome a tough final table of players such as Guzzardi, Macau’s Raiden Kan, and the UK’s Michael Kane.

Here is how the final table stacks up:

1Stephen McHugh304,000
2Navin Bechar237,000
3Raiden Kan448,000
4Robert McLean406,000
5Michael Guzzardi537,000
6Michael Doyle195,000
7Gregory Wheeler390,000
8Michael Kane382,000
9Bryan Huang779,000

There were 36 players to begin Day 3 and 26 of those were eliminated throughout the action. Of those players, it was perhaps Andrew Molodstov who ended up the most disappointed when he was deemed the bubble boy.

Once the top 21 players had made the money there were a steady stream of eliminations with Henry Szmelcer (21st), Xuan Liu (18th), Stevan Chew (16th), Yaxi Zhu (13th), David Lim (12th) and Walter Treccarichi (11th) all finishing in the money.

It didn’t take long for ten to become nine as local player Wayde Rickhuss was eliminated as the final table bubble boy to usher in the end of play.

Each player at the final table is guaranteed $10,500 but will hoping to ride the pay waves all the way to a six-figure victory. Play kicks off at 2:10 p.m. local time tomorrow (Sunday), so make sure you to return PokerNews then to find out who wins!

Tags: Bryan Huang