Event #3: $1,150 Shot Clock Shootout

Nam Le Wins $1,150 Shot Clock Shootout Event #3

zedmaster84 • Level 8: 500-1,000, 100 ante
Nam Le Winner Picture

The A$1,150 Shot Clock Shootout Event #3 of the 2016 Aussie Millions Poker Championship saw the 14 winners of their shootout table of the previous day return to the poker room of the Crown Entertainment Complex in Melbourne. They were drawn on two seven-handed tables and once the final four on each were reached, the field was combined to the final table of the last eight.

Among those to bust before the final table but taking a share of the prize pool were Kyle White (12th, $3,230) as well as [Removed:172] and Ari Engel (10th respectively 9th for $3,875 each). Local player Nam Le started the hunt for the LK Boutique winner ring with a dominating chip lead whereas Henrik Tollefsen and Dietrich Fast were among the short stacks.

It was Chance Kornuth who was sent to the rail first after flopping a pair of jacks only to see Le look him up with a pair of kings. Tollefsen was next to fall when his ace-queen found no help against the ace-king of Adam Jarvis. Simon Thwaites followed in sixth place, his ace-four was beaten by fellow Aussie Jarvis with the jack-eight of hearts that turned into a straight.

2015 World Series of Poker Europe bracelet winner Fast flopped an open-ended straight flush draw with nine-ten of diamonds and Le looked him up with king-seven of diamonds for the higher flush draw. Neither player improved and king-high scooped the pot. Jarvis then fell in fourth place, his ace-five stood no chance against the pocket kings of Mooney.

The remaining three players agreed to an ICM deal and left A$3,000 as well as the LK Boutique winner ring up for grabs. Roope Salminen was sent to the rail in third place shortly after, the Finn lost a raise with pocket sixes against the ace-eight of Mooney as an eight fell on the turn. Heads-up play took one hour before Le flopped a set of eights and turned a full house, Mooney's all in with a pair of jacks found no help anymore.

Shortly after the winner pictures were taken, Le headed straight to the registration desk in order to sign up for the $1,160 Mix Max Event #5. Below are the results for the Shot Clock Shootout event, the full payouts can be found here.

Final Table Results

1Nam LeAustralia$30,215
2Geoffrey MooneyAustralia$24,524
3Roope SalminenFinland$19,520
4Adam JarvisAustralia$11,625
5Dietrich FastGermany$8,400
6Simon ThwaitesAustralia$5,810
7Henrik TollefsenNorway$5,165
8Chance KornuthUSA$4,520

Tags: Adam JarvisAri EngelChance KornuthDietrich FastGeoffrey MooneyHenrik TollefsenNam LeRoope SalminenSimon Thwaites