Live Events 4
Main Event
Days:

Who Will Become the 2012 PokerStars.com EPT Barcelona Main Event Champion?

Chad_Holloway
Sahamies leads the pack.

For the past week, the 2012 PokerStars.com European Poker Tour Barcelona Main Event has been playing out at the Casino Barcelona in Barcelona, Spain, the first stop on the EPT Season 9 schedule. What began with 1,082 is now down to the final eight.

Leading the pack is Ilari "Ilari FIN" Sahamies, better known for his online exploits than anything he's done in the live realm. Today the Fin looks to change that by using his 7,885,000 stack to make a run at his first major title.

Standing in his way is an eclectic mix of players that includes John Juanda, a five-time World Series of Poker Bracelet winner looking to add an EPT title to his already impressive résumé. If he's to accomplish the feat, he's going to have to do it from a short stack as he begins the day seventh in chips.

Likewise, the young Lithuanian Anaras Alekberovas played superbly on Day 6, oftentimes holding the chip lead. He begins the final table fourth in chips and will no doubt give the rest of the players a run for their money. Throw in two former chip leaders, Antonin Duda (Day 3) and Samuel Rodriguez (Day 4), and this final table is shaping up to be quite the affair.

Season 9 EPT Barcelona Final Table

SeatPlayerCount
1Anaras Alekberovas4,430,000
2Ilari Sahamies7,885,000
3Antonin Duda3,445,000
4Samuel Rodriguez6,450,000
5John Juanda1,890,000
6Joni Jouhkimainen1,510,000
7Mikalai Pobal4,410,000
8Sinel Anton2,355,000

The sixth and final day of the 2012 PokerStars.com EPT Barcelona Main Event will begin at 13:00 CET (07:00 EST) as the final table of eight will play down to a winner. Since it will be broadcast on a one-hour delay, our updates will begin at 14:00 CET (08:00 EST).