Main Event

WSOPC Harrah's Main Event About to Begin

Last Year's Champion Kurt Jewell

Welcome to our coverage of the 2012-13 World Series of Poker Circuit presented by Southern Comfort 100 Proof! We're mere minutes away from cards flying for our Main Event here in the theater of Harrah's Tunica. Today will mark the first of the two starting flights available to players. Those that are eliminated during play today have the option to re-enter the tournament tomorrow. As per the WSOPC structure sheet, players will play fifteen 40-minute levels and two 60-minute levels before bagging and tagging for the evening.

Last year's champion Kurt Jewell will be returning to the felt in an attempt to take back-to-back titles. Jewell overcame a field of 647 players last year to take home the gold ring, the $192,984 in first-place prize money, and the seat to the National Championship. We caught up with Jewell early in the morning to discover that he and fellow circuit regular Aaron Massey made a harrowing all-night journey from Atlantic City to participate in today's play.

Here's a look at the payouts from last year:

2011-12 Harrah’s Tunica Final Table Results

1stKurt Jewell$192,984
2ndChris Thompson$119,415
3rdDan Blakeman$87,586
4thJacob Bazeley$65,134
5thDustin Gardner$49,093
6thSteve McClusky$37,495
7thMichael “Great MJ” Cooper$29,013
8thTodd Chew$22,744
9thRay Weaver$18,056

Action kicks off promptly at 12:00 p.m. CST for our Day 1a flight. Be sure to stay tuned to all of our coverage here on PokerNews!

Tags: Kurt Jewell