2011 World Series of Poker

Event #54: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em
Days: 1a

Looking Back at the $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em Events

Level 4 : 75-150, 0 ante

The WSOP hasn't always offered open $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em events. In the past, there were $1,000 rebuy events, ladies events, and seniors events, but typically the open events had a minimum buy-in of $1,500. During the 2009 series, the WSOP held one open $1,000 NLHE event which was appropriately nicknamed the "Stimulus Special," as it was meant to be a cheaper alternative for people who had been affected by the recession here in the United States.

Last year WSOP bumped the number of open $1,000 NLHE events to six total. This year, five of these $1,000 events were held with this being the last of the bunch.

Below is a chart showing the winners of all the $1,000 events from 2009 through today. (Note, this table does not include Ladies Events, Seniors Events, or Rebuy Events.)

Who will be the next player to join this prestigious list of winners? Stay tuned to PokerNews to find out!

Former $1,000 NLHE Champions

2009Event #4Steve Sung6,012$771,106
2010Event #3Aadam Daya4,345$625,872
2010Event #13Steven Gee3,024$472,479
2010Event #24Jeffrey Tebben3,289$503,389
2010Event #36Scott Montgomery3,102$481,760
2010Event #47Shawn Busse3,128$485,791
2010Event #54Marcel Vonk3,844$570,960
2011Event #8Sean Getzwiller4,178$611,185
2011Event #20Jason Somerville3,175$493,091
2011Event #34Mark Schmid3,144$488,283
2011Event #45Kenneth Griffin2,890$455,356