Event 23: $3,000 No-Limit Hold'em - Six-Handed

Metalidi Wins the Day; Several Big Names Still in Contention

OHairDJ • Level 20: 4,000-8,000, 1,000 ante
Artem Metalidi - looking for his first World Series of Poker bracelet

Aaaand just like that – another action-packed day of six-handed No Limit Hold’em is in the books. Out of the original 141 who began Day 2 in hopes of landing a World Series of Poker gold bracelet – only 18 will return for a third and final Day 3. Artem Metalidi will come into tomorrow as chip leader with a monstrous 1,523,000 stack. Behind him is the only other player to break a milly during Day 2, Luis Rodriguez, who bagged up 1,005,000.

As is always true in poker, where there are winners, there must be losers. Among those who didn’t survive into Day 3 include Jason Mercier, David Benyamine, Dan O’Brien, Galen Hall, Liv Boeree, Will Failla, Brad Booth and Gavin Smith. William Reynolds also fell by the wayside, but in notably brutal fashion as he was outdone by one of No Limit Hold’em’s prominent cooler situations.

As noted, our remaining players will be chasing after Artem Metalidi, who found himself with a massive chip late into Day 2 after winning a couple of key pots. There is still plenty of notable talent still in contention, however, including bracelet winner and 2008 November Niner Scott Montgomery, World Poker Tour champion and bracelet-winner Eugene Katchalov, online tournament phenom Andrew Lichtenberger and Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier – whose live tournament earnings exceed $8,400,000.

Here are the final chip counts going into tomorrow:

PlayerChip Count
Artem Metalidi1,523,000
Luis Rodriguez Cruz1,005,000
Foster Hays679,000
Joseph Urgo572,000
Damien Lhommeau511,000
Bertrand Grospellier487,000
Freddy Deeb425,000
Taylor Paur424,000
Simon Charette405,000
Eddie Blumenthal395,000
Craig Bergeron375,000
Scott Montgomery288,000
Thiago Nishijima272,000
Andrew Lichtenberger246,000
Alexander Nudin245,000
Toan Trinh224,000
Ryan Fair199,000
Eugene Katchalov84,000

Join us here tomorrow at 1:00 PM local time as our final 18 combatants return to battle down to an eventual champion. Until then, we wish you a good night!