2019 World Series of Poker

Event #58: $50,000 Poker Players Championship
Day: 3
Event Info

2019 World Series of Poker

Final Results
Winning Hand
Event Info
Prize Pool
Level Info
300,000 / 600,000

Phil Ivey & John Hennigan Ahead as Final 38 Begin Day 3 of the Poker Players Championship

John Hennigan
John Hennigan

Welcome back to the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino and the 2019 World Series of Poker for Day 3 of Event #58: $50,000 Poker Players Championship!

Tuesday saw the total registration for the tournament climb to 74 players, as ten new players joined the 64 entrants from Day 1, including the last-minute participation of Tom Dwan, who would later bust in the final level. Of that group, only Brian Hastings, Chris Klodnicki, Tomer Daniel, and Illya Trincher were able to find a bag, while Marco Johnson, Jake Abdallah, Cary Katz, Bryn Kenney, and Daniel Alaei all were eliminated before the end of the night.

Michael Mizrachi won't be adding a fourth Poker Player's Championship bracelet to his tally, as he succumbed to Prahlad Friedman in a round of Pot-Limit Omaha. Likewise, former champions David Bach, Elior Sion and two-time winner Brian Rast were all eliminated, and a total of thirty-five players fell in Day 2 action, including Daniel Negreanu, Gus Hansen, Nick Schulman, Stephen Chidwick, Eli Elezra, Scott Seiver and Justin Bonomo, who had gone into play second-in-chips.

Ten-time WSOP bracelet winner Phil Ivey comes into Day 3 with the chip lead, his 1,254,000 stack barely edging out 2014 Poker Player's Championship bracelet winner John Hennigan and his 1,209,000 chips. The rest of the top five includes heavy hitters Chris Vitch (1,103,000), David Oppenheim (1,062,000), and Josh Arieh (939,000). 2013 Poker Player's Championship bracelet winner Matthew Ashton sits just outside the top five with 911,000, while Isaac Haxton (802,000), Dan "Jungleman" Cates (751,000), Shaun Deeb (704,000), Adam Friedman (643,000), Robert Mizrachi (417,000), Jason Mercier (412,000), and Phil Galfond (178,000), are among some of the 38 players who will be in action during Wednesday's Day 3.

RoomTableSeatPlayerCountryChip Count
Amazon4021Timofey KuznetsovRussia762,000
Amazon4023Robert MackieUnited States900,000
Amazon4024Dario SammartinoItaly296,000
Amazon4025Roy ThungUnited States406,000
Amazon4026John MonnetteUnited States257,000
Amazon4031Tomer DanielUnited States157,000
Amazon4032Illya TrincherUnited States170,000
Amazon4033Prahlad FriedmanUnited States390,000
Amazon4034Mike GlickUnited States512,000
Amazon4035Eric WassersonUnited States87,000
Amazon4061Jesse MartinUnited States204,000
Amazon4062Luke SchwartzUnited Kingdom744,000
Amazon4063Andrew BrownUnited States539,000
Amazon4064Josh AriehUnited States939,000
Amazon4065Bryce YockeyUnited States715,000
Amazon4066Jared BleznickUnited States829,000
Amazon4071Daniel CatesUnited States751,000
Amazon4072Phillip HuiUnited States490,000
Amazon4074Chris VitchUnited States1,103,000
Amazon4075Phil GalfondUnited States178,000
Amazon4076Isaac HaxtonUnited States802,000
Amazon4091Brian HastingsUnited States121,000
Amazon4092Phil IveyUnited States1,253,500
Amazon4093Adam FriedmanUnited States643,000
Amazon4095Robert MizrachiUnited States417,000
Amazon4096Matthew WoodCanada731,000
Amazon4101Talal ShakerchiUnited Kingdom293,000
Amazon4102John EspositoUnited States420,000
Amazon4103Mikael ThuritzUnited States247,000
Amazon4104David "ODB" BakerUnited States497,000
Amazon4105Jason MercierUnited States412,000
Amazon4106Chris KlodnickiUnited States615,000
Amazon4111David BenyamineUnited States937,000
Amazon4112Shaun DeebUnited States704,000
Amazon4113Lyle BermanUnited States437,000
Amazon4114Matthew AshtonUnited Kingdom911,000
Amazon4115David OppenheimUnited States1,062,000
Amazon4116John HenniganUnited States1,209,000

Day 3 action will kick off at 2 p.m. local time on Wednesday, June 26th. The PokerNews Live Reporting team will be here all day long to catch the updates from one of the world's most prestigious tournaments, along with all the other World Series of Poker events happening here at the Rio today. Be sure to stay tuned as we get one step closer towards crowning this year's Poker Players Championship winner!

Tags: Adam FriedmanBrian HastingsBrian RastBryn KenneyCary KatzChris KlodnickiChris VitchDaniel AlaeiDaniel NegreanuDavid BachDavid OppenheimEli ElezraElior SionGus HansenIllya TrincherIsaac HaxtonJason MercierJohn HenniganJosh AriehJustin BonomoMarco JohnsonMatthew AshtonMichael MizrachiNick SchulmanPhil GalfondPhil IveyPrahlad FriedmanRobert MizrachiScott SeiverShaun DeebStephen ChidwickTom DwanTomer Daniel