World Series of Poker Europe

Aruba Poker Classic Day 2: Mizrachi Storms to the Top, Hellmuth Survives

Robbie Mizrachi

Day 2 got underway yesterday at the 2009 Aruba Poker Classic as 263 players returned to the felt hoping to snag the $753,330 first-place prize. Leading the way going into the day's action was Jon Favaloro who finished the day with 255,300 chips. Unfortunately for Favaloro, by the day's end, it was Robert Mizrachi that jumped to the top of the leader board with 353,200 as he nailed hands like his rivered wheel against Eric "basebaldy" Baldwin.

Several players saw their hopes of an Aruba title disappear as Bryan Devonshire, Nick Binger, Jason Gray, Joe Tehan, Amit Makhja, and Adam "Roothlus" Levy hit the rail early on in the day's action.

Big-name players to make Day 3 include defending Aruba Poker Classic champion Matt Brady (34,500), Phil Hellmuth (41,600), two-time 2009 World Series of Poker bracelet winner Brock Parker (95,600), Gavin Smith (45,700), speed metal god Scott Ian (40,300) and Absolute Pro Matt Vengrin (116,700).

Top Ten Chip Counts:

1. Robert Mizrachi - 353,200
2. Jon Favaloro: - 253,300
3. Ty Reiman - 226,900
4. Matthew Ross - 223,900
5. James Mordue - 207,700
6. James Czarnecki - 197,300
7. David Perkins - 191,500
8. Eric "basebaldy" Baldwin - 166,400
9. Max Greenwood - 152,800
10. Ryan Caldwell - 146,900

Make sure to tune in to PokerNews for all of the exciting action as play is already underway as the returning players look to land one of the 36 spots scheduled to play Day 4.

Follow us on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news, and also become our fan on Facebook.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories