World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

2010 APPT Cebu Day 2: Kim Gap Young Holds Huge Lead!

Kim Gap Young

It was another beautiful day in Cebu, Philippines, as the Shangri-La Mactan Resort & Spa played host to the continuation of the Asia Pacific Poker Tour Cebu Main Event with Day 2 on the cards! The 236-player field had been reduced to just 127 over the combined day ones, and with a prizepool of PHP 21,518,480 ($490,170) up for grabs, it was always going to be a slog of a day on the felt.

Action kicked off at a fast and furious pace with players flying out the door before APPT Tournament Director Danny McDonagh decided to pause the tournament so the Filipino-strong poker room could watch the closing rounds and decision of the Manny Pacquiao and Antonio Margarito fight. Australians Michael Marvanek, John Maklouf, Luke Edwards and Jackie Glazier all made their way to the door. PokerStars Team Asia Pro Bryan Huang joined counterpart Raymond Wu as a day two casualty leaving only Joe Hachem and Tony Hachem as the remaining two PokerStars Pros.

Unfortunately Joe would make his way to the rail when he was all in and dominated and never managed to spike to stay alive. Tony remained alive and in contention for yet another tour cash, but his day would end when his {A-Clubs}{6-Clubs} would come unstuck against an opponent’s {J-Spades}{10-Clubs} on a final board of {8-Clubs}{10-Diamonds}{J-Clubs}{2-Clubs}{J-Diamonds}.

The story of the day would be the roller coaster ride of Kim Gap Young who continually mixed up his play as his chips shifted around the table. Young managed to knock off Tom Grigg in one of the biggest pots of the tournament to see him become the first player over the 300,000-chip mark; which helped him propel to be the end-of-day clear chip leader.

Van Marcus, Jarred Graham, Mishel Anunu and James Honeybone were a few of the late casualties before thirty-five players managed to bag and tag their chips for the second consecutive time in the tournament.

Top Ten Chip Counts:

Kim Gap Young (KOR)393,600
Andrew Hinrichsen (AUS)230,200
Mikael Rozen (SWE)225,400
Jukka Juvonen (FIN)198,900
Fabiano Michael (AUS)195,400
Raymond Lapitan (AUS)183,000
Mike Puno (PHP)170,000
Ross Parkhill (UK)169,200
Ivan Tan (SIN)159,600
Inwook Choi (KOR)152,900

Like the Day 1b leaderboard, it has an Internationl flavor that sees Young holding a lead of over 160,000 his nearest rival. Some of those rivals include Day 1a chip leader Andrew Hinrichsen (230,200), Mikael Rozen (225,400) and Jukka Juvonen (198,900).

Day 1b chip leader Mike Puno (170,000), Ivan Tan (159,600), Inwook Choi (152,900), Nathaneel Seet (134,600) and Richard En (108,500) still can’t be ruled out as we firstly play until the 28-money-paying spots before everyone sets their sights on the PHP 5,810,000 ($132,346) first prize!

The PokerNews Live Reporting Team will again be on the floor tomorrow from 12:15 p.m. local time providing continuous live updates of all the Day 3 action as we play down to a final nine in the 2010 APPT Cebu Main Event!

Over on PokerStars, Club PokerNews are pleased to announce we have several exclusive $15,000 Sunday Million & $2,000 PCA Freerolls that you cannot find anywhere else.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories