World Series of Poker Europe

2011 Aussie Millions Event #9 Day 4: Dorfman Leads Final Table of Main Event; Heads Up Championship Down to Three

Randy Dorfman

At the start of Day 4 of the 2011 Aussie Millions Main Event, there were still 18 players with the hopes of becoming the 2011 Aussie Millions champion. As the day wore on however, there was elimination after elimination and by day's end, only eight were left.

Chris Moorman led the field going into the day but he couldn't hold on to the lead, finishing the day eighth on the leaderboard with 955,000. Randy Dorfman was the man to beat at the end of the night, bagging 3.895 million. Team Full Tilt Poker's Patrik Antonius had a swingy day, grabbing the chip lead at a couple of points during the day, but ultimately ending up with 1,300,000 at the end of the day. Also hanging on to their chips and making it to the final day of play were, James Keys (2,395,000), Jeff Rossiter (1,235,000), David Gorr (2,370,000), Sam Razavi (1,360,000), and Michael Ryan (960,000).

Full Tilt Poker Red Pro Mark Vos had a tough day, starting the day second in chips, but got into a three way all in with Manny Stavropoulos and Tyler Bonkowski, and came out on the wrong end of it. Soon after, he was the first player of the day to be eliminated. Following him was Tobias Reinkemeier in 17th place. PokerNews Strategy's Randy "nanonoko" Lew was eliminated in 10th place, taking home AUD$100,000. Following him in ninth place was last year's third place finisher, Sorel Mizzi, when he got involved in a hand versus Michael Ryan. Mizzi had flopped a set against Ryan's top pair. The board paired on the turn giving Mizzi a full house, but he wasn't out of the woods yet, and sure enough the river dealt the fatal card to give Ryan a bigger full house sending Mizzi to the rail. The final eight players played for about six hours with no elimination and decided to call it a night at the end of Level 23.

Team PokerNews will be back at 12:30 p.m. local time on Saturday in Melbourne, Australia, inside Studio 3 to give you hand-for-hand coverage as the final eight play down to one and crown the 2011 Aussie Millions champion! So keep it locked to the PokerNews Live Reporting Page for all the updates.

Event #13: Australia Heads Up Championship

Day 1b of Event #13 wasn't without a bit of confusion. Only eight players had registered for the second flight of the Australia Heads Up Championship - eight less than the Day 1a flight - leaving the bracket in a bit of disarray. After almost scrapping the Day 1a flight, a few modifications were made and the eight players were informed that they would play down to one and the winner would play a round robin with Barry Woods and Dan Smith on Saturday.

Scott Montgomery took on William Thorson, Nikolay Evdakov went up against Alexander Kostritsyn, Carlos Mortensen played Melanie Weisner, and Terrence Chan took on Anton Morgenstern. Montgomery, Kostritsyn, Mortensen, and Chan all advanced to the second round. Kostritsyn dispatched of Montgomery quickly, but the Mortensen and Chan match went on for a while. Finally however, Mortensen finished Chan, meaning that he would take on Kostritsyn for a chance to play in the finals. After two matches they were one and one. Mortensen defeated Kostritsyn in the third match and moved on to the finals.

You can follow those updates beginning at 2:00 p.m. local time on the PokerNews Live Reporting Blog.

Event #15: 8-Game Mixed Event

What was supposed to be a one-day event, ended up being two, as the final four players of Event #15 decided at 4:00 a.m. Friday morning to call it a night and resume play at 2:00 p.m. that afternoon. Maria Ho went into the day as the chip leader and ended up facing Andy Bloch heads up for the title. Justin Smith was the first of the four to be eliminated. He was followed by Robert Campbell in third. Ho went into heads-up play with a huge chip deficit, and couldn't recover. In just a few hands, Bloch had eliminated his opponent, to take home the title and AUD$105,000 first-place prize.

Want to check out the play-by-play? You can, because PokerNews was there, covering it all.

Event #17: $2,200 No-Limit Hold'em Six Handed

Event #17 kicked off Friday, and 225 players took their seats in hopes of making it to Day 2. Among them were Full Tilt Poker's Annette Obrestad, Scott Montgomery, Jonathan Karamalikis, Simon Watt, Matt Jarvis and James Akenhead, as well as Tyron Krost, Lee Nelson, Tony Hachem and JP Kelly. None of them were able to make their way to the final 18 that will come back Saturday.

Josh Tekesky bagged the most chips at the end of play and just behind him is Stuart Macleod-Smith. Still in the running is Tony Dunst, Ben Delaney, Billy "The Croc" Argyros, and Leo Boxell.

You'll be able to catch all the action on PokerNews as they play down to a winner.

Remember to follow us on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news.

Want to rail the biggest games in the world? Not only will you get a $600 sign-up bonus at Full Tilt Poker, new depositors also get to play in a $100,000 First Deposit Freeroll. — so you can play while you watch!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories