Zouari Issued One-Round Penalty
Tournament officials had been called to Table 47 for a situation involving Jeremie Zouari and Eros Calderone.
On a Q♣6♦4♦J♦ board, Jeremie Zouari had bet 13,000 and Eros Calderone had raised to 40,000. Zouari sat without cards, having apparently folded, but according to Calderone, Zouari had pulled back the three 1,000 chips from his original bet before replacing it and folding.
Tournament officials ruled that having manipulated his chips, Zouari needed to call or raise — he wasn't allowed to fold. However, while officials conferred they realized there was an additional complicating factor: Calderone had folded his cards as well.
Eventually, officials awarded the pot to Calderone without forcing Zouari to match the 40,000 bet, and issued Zouari a one-round penalty.
| Player | Chips | Progress |
|---|---|---|
|
|
139,000
4,000
|
4,000 |
|
|
85,000
85,000
|
85,000 |