2013 World Series of Poker

Event #34: $1,000 Turbo No-Limit Hold'em
Day: 1
Event Info

2013 World Series of Poker

Final Results
Winning Hand
Event Info
Prize Pool
Level Info
20,000 / 40,000

Victor Figueroa Leads; Noah Vaillancourt Close Behind

Level 17 : 2,000/4,000, 500 ante
Victor Figueroa
Victor Figueroa

Event #34: $1,000 Turbo No-Limit Hold’em began today with 1,629 players and true to its “turbo” format, the tournament lost 1,594 players at a record pace to end the day with just 35 players and well into the money.

After 17 levels of play, the first four of which were 30-minutes long and the remaining thirteen were 40-minutes, it appeared that Victor Figueroa (354,000) has the largest stack in the room. Some of the other top stacks included: Noah Vaillancourt (301,000), Michael Gathy (256,000) and Mikk Matiiesen (255,00). You can also find Jason Duval (193,000), Jake Cody (190,000), Jennifer Tilly (113,000) and Russell Crane (100,00) still in the field with respectable stacks. Duval is on the hunt for his second bracelet within a week.

Some of the notable players falling victim early in the day included three former Main Event Champions Joe Cada, Greg Raymer and Jonathan Duhamel. Additionally, we saw Maria Ho, David Williams, Erik Seidel and Alan Cunnigham hit the rail during the day. The tournament payed 171 players and plenty of notables including: Antonio Esfandiari (139th), David Peters (132nd), Eric Crain (98th), Shannon Shorr (95th), Melanie Weisner (93rd) and DJ MacKinnon (91st) made the money but won’t be fortunate to be coming back for day two.

The word on the floor was that the players liked this format, with faster levels on Day 1 and full sixty-minute levels on Day 2. They will be back on the felt tomorrow at 1 p.m. in the Amazon Room and will be playing until a champion is crowned and the first-place prize of $278,613 and the bracelet is awarded. Keep it here, on PokerNews, for the live updates from the tournament floor.

Tags: Antonio EsfandiariDavid PetersDavid WilliamsEric CrainErik SeidelGreg RaymerJoe CadaJonathan DuhamelMaria HoMelanie WeisnerShannon ShorrVictor Figueroa