2010 PokerStars.net APPT Cebu Day 3: Kim Gap Young Still On Top!

Kim Gap Young

Clouds covered the sky outside as the Shangri-La Mactan Resort & Spa played host to Day 3 of the PokerStars.net Asia Pacific Poker Tour Cebu Main Event and the 35 players who returned to the felt to battle down to a final nine.

It only took a little over an hour before Thomas Spegar was awarded the unwanted moniker of bubble boy after his {a-Hearts}{q-Spades} failed to improve against pocket tens. The first cashed-up elimination didn't occur for another hour, and when it did, a rapid flurry of bust-outs followed with Yves Sy, Inwook Choi, Ross Parkhill, Juan Herrera and Andrew Hinrichsen all steamrolled out the door.

The next level saw eliminations return in a flurry with seven players falling to the rail and leaving the final 16 for the start of the fifth level of the day. The last remaining female in the field – Young-shin Im – held the slight chip lead over fellow Korean and overnight chip leader Kim Gap Young.

As soon as play resumed, Jukka Juvonen captured the biggest pot to date when his {9-Hearts}{8-Hearts} held true against {a-Hearts}{a-Spades} on a board of {6-Hearts}{3-Hearts}{a-Diamonds}{2-Hearts}{5-Spades} after all the money went in on the turn. With players jostling for potential position on the final table, Alexander Beeckx (15th), Paul Foltyn (13th), Roger Spets (12th) and Ivan Tan (11th) all waved farewell.

Singapore's high-stakes cash game player Nathaneel Seet wasn't able to best his sixth-place finish in a previous PokerStars.net APPT event when his three-bet all-in with {a-Clubs}{9-Spades} wasn't able to outdraw {j-Clubs}{j-Spades} to see the final table of nine set.

SeatPlayerCountryChip CountBBsChip %
1Richard EnCanada198,00016.54.4%
2Jukka JuvonenFinland583,00048.512.9%
3Kim Gap YoungKorea1,193,00099.526.4%
4Raymond LapitanAustralia158,000133.5%
5Fabiano MichaelAustralia231,000195.1%
6Daren YoonMalaysia677,00056.515%
7Mikael RosenSweden670,0005614.8%
8Young-shin ImKorea639,0005314.1%
9Basilios DiakokomninosUSA177,000153.9%

After starting the day with the chip lead, Young did manage to let it slip his grasp numerous times, but after some highly aggressive late-session play and vital eliminations, he managed to snatch it back for the second consecutive day.

Holding more than a 500,000-chip lead over his nearest rival, Daren Yoon (677,000), Mikael Rosen (670,000) and Im (639,000) were all the best-placed to clip Young to see if they could make a run at the PHP 5,810,000 first prize. Throw in some talented short-stack players such as Fabiano Michael (231,000) and Richard En (198,000), and it truly was anyone’s tournament to win!

PlacePayout (PHP)Payout (USD)
1stPHP 5,810,000$132,346
2ndPHP 3,660,000$83,371
3rdPHP 2,045,000$46,583
4thPHP 1,560,000$35,535
5thPHP 1,290,000$29,385
6thPHP 1,025,000$23,348
7thPHP 805,000$18,337
8thPHP 645,000$14,692
9thPHP 485,480$11,059

With the PHP 5,810,000 first prize and title of champion on the line, the PokerNews Live Reporting Team will be providing continuous live updates of all the action from 12:15 p.m. local time as play continues in the 2010 PokerStars.net APPT Cebu Champion!

Over on PokerStars, Club PokerNews are pleased to announce we have several exclusive $15,000 Sunday Million & $2,000 PCA Freerolls that you cannot find anywhere else.

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories