Selbst and Bellande Among 10 New Players Confirmed for WSOP $1M BIG ONE for ONE DROP

One Drop

Ten more players were confirmed for the 2014 World Series of Poker $1 Million BIG ONE for ONE DROP on Monday, including the first woman to ever take part in the event; Vanessa Selbst.

"I'm so excited to be taking part in The BIG ONE for ONE DROP this year,” the Team PokerStars Pro said. “I didn't get to play in 2012, but after seeing how much fun everyone had with the event as well as how profound an impact it had on ONE DROP, I knew I had to be a part of it this time around."

Selbst, who called the million-dollar buy-in "ridiculous" when it was first announced, is joined by nine new players; Tony Gregg, Jean-Robert Bellande, Fabian Quoss, Max Altergott, Tobias Reinkemeier, Igor Kurganov, Christoph Vogelsang, Niklas Heinecker, and an "Anonymous Asian Businessmen."

Gregg won the 2013 WSOP ONE DROP High Roller, outlasting a field of 166 players to earn $4,830,619. 2012 ONE DROP winner Antonio Esfandiari finished fourth, pocketing $1,433,438.

There are now 33 confirmed players — more than half of the 56-player cap — for the seven-figure buy-in event scheduled for June 29 through July 1, and seats are reserved on a first-come first-serve basis. Those that provide a deposit are guaranteed their seat. Bellande tweeted the following while he was dropping off an all-cash deposit at the cage:

If the field reaches the seven-table threshold, the first-place prize will be more than $20,000,000.

The WSOP also announced that ESPN cameras will be present to catch every hand from start to finish during the three-day event, and the Worldwide Leader in Sports will air three consecutive weeks of two-hour coverage starting on Tuesday, July 15.

  • July 15 - 9-11 p.m. EST - Day 1 and Day 2 action
  • July 22 - 9-11 p.m. EST - Day 2 action and final table bubble
  • July 29 - 9-11 p.m. EST - Final table action through to winner

“With the unthinkable stakes of The BIG ONE for ONE DROP and its colorful mix of early committees, we are thrilled ESPN has embraced the opportunity to truly showcase a seminal moment for poker that just may yield the biggest first prize in sports television history,” said WSOP Executive Director Ty Stewart.

The Rio will host a $25,300 buy-in satellite on June 28 at 6 p.m. PST, and there will be mega satellites ranging from $200 to $3,750 running on June 26 and 27.

For news, updates, and more follow PokerNews on Twitter and Facebook.

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories