World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

Rens Feenstra Leads After Day 1a of the 2015 Master Classics of Poker Main Event

Rens Feenstra
  • Rens Feenstra led after Day 1a of the 2015 Master Classics of Poker Main Event.

For the first time ever, the 2015 Master Classics of Poker Main Event provided two starting days. On the first, 100 players ponied up the €4,250 buy-in, either via direct entry, reentry, or after winning their seat in one of the satellites at the Holland Casino in Amsterdam. After nine levels of 60 minutes each, the field was whittled down to 44 survivors and it was a tight race for the overnight lead.

Ultimately, it was 2013 MCOP €1,500 Reentry and 2012 MCOP High Roller champion Rens Feenstra who claimed the top spot with 149,100 in chips. He was closely followed by EPT11 Malta Main Event winner Jean Montury (145,000), Wouter Beltz (144,800), Georgios Zisimopoulos (141,800), and Sampo Ryynanen (133,900).

Top 10 Day 1a Chip Counts

1Rens Feenstra149,100
2Jean Montury145,000
3Wouter Beltz144,800
4Georgios Zisimopoulos141,800
5Sampo Ryynanen133,900
6Govert Metaal128,200
7Ioannis Kontonatsios108,200
8Nico Kuan105,000
9Przemyslaw Piotrowski102,200
10David Boyaciyan100,200

Other notables going through to Day 2 included Govert Metaal (128,200), Przemyslaw Piotrowski (102,200), 2011 MCOP Main Event champion David Boyaciyan (100,200), Thomas Muehloecker (95,200), Daniel Dvoress (73,900), David "MissOracle" Yan (60,100), Pascal Hartmann (57,900), Jason Wheeler (55,800), defending champion Ruben Visser (50,900), 2013 MCOP Main Event winner Noah Boeken (48,500), Juha Helppi (41,600), and Clyde Tjauw Foe (30,800).

Among those that will have to return for Day 1b after busting in their first attempt(s) were familiar faces such as Vlado Banicevic, Nikolaus Teichert, Richard Milne, Senh Ung, Mateusz Moolhuizen, Tom Hall, Marcel Vonk, Raoul Refos, Hossein Ensan, Martin Finger, Faraz Jaka, Matthias de Meulder, former November Niner Jorryt van Hoof, Surinder Sunar, and Dominic van Embden.

Two more side events determined winners today; Tobias Peters won the €500 Speed Event after coming second to van Embden last night in the €1,500 Reentry Event, and Kuljinder Sidhu took down the €10,000 High Roller for a payday of €161,172. The duo is expected in the starting field for Tuesday's Day 1b at 14:00 local time and the overall field size will be boosted significantly.

Make sure to tune back in when the PokerNews Live Reporting team brings further updates from the event up until a winner is crowned on Friday.

Want to stay atop all the latest in the poker world? If so, make sure to get PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories