World Series of Poker Europe

Christian "Eisenhower1" Jeppsson Named Swedish Player of The Year w/ 47.8% of Vote

Christian "eisenhower1" Jeppsson
  • Christian "eisenhower1" Jeppsson declared Swedish Poker Player of the Year with 47.8% of the votes.

  • Simon "Dybban" Lindell took "Ambassador of the Year" honors for tirelessly promoting Swedish poker.

  • Jerry "Perrymejsen" Ödeeen was named "Breakthrough of the Year" with 88.3% of the votes.

Every year for the past seven running, and Pokerforum.nus readers have cast their votes for Swedish Poker Player of the Year. In 2014, Martin Jacobson took the honors with 80 percent of the vote, which was no surprise considering he became the first Swedish player to win the World Series of Poker Main Event.

This year's vote was much closer, but in the end tournament legend Christian "eisenhower1" Jeppsson won 2015 Swedish POY with 47.8% of the votes, slightly ahead of Viktor "Isildur1" Blom, who earned 41.8% of the vote due in no small part tobeing online poker's biggest winner in 2015. The third nominee, Mikael Thuritz, garnered 10.4% of the vote.

"Christian Jeppsson reached in 2015 first place on PocketFives rankings for the first time in his decade-long international tournament career," read the verdict. "In addition he crowned this by taking his two biggest online cashes in his career this year, for a total of over $ 400 000. Amongst this year's merit lies a WCOOP title, and a final table in SCOOP main event. He is one of the truly big Swedish tournament icons."

Not only did Jeppsson earn the POY title, he also took home top honors in the "Performance of the Year" category with 65.8% of the vote. Other nominees were Ghattas Kortas, the last Swede standing in the 2015 WSOP Main Event, and Thuritz, winner of the WCOOP Heads-Up High Roller.

"After being a part of the international tournament elite in a decade, Christian Jeppsson reached first place on PocketFives rankings," the verdict continued. "It is an achievement he ranks higher than the WCOOP title he took earlier in the autumn."

Jeppsson joins a prestigious list of Swedish POY winners that include Jacobson (2014), Robin Ylitalo (2013), Blom (2009 and 2012), Alexander Anter (2011), and Chris Björin (2010).

Meanwhile, Jerry "Perrymejsen" Ödeeen was named "Breakthrough of the Year" with 88.3% of the votes. Other nominees were Dennis Berglin and Diana Svensk.

Ödeeen received his nomination because he "has gone from being a promising tournament player in the crowd to become one of our most exposed names in Swedish poker, thanks to fantastic online performances, quality blogging and increased presence on the tour. He has been up and touched the top twenty list of the world on PocketFives, and is now established among the 50 top-ranked players. Eight of the ten largest online cashes has come in 2015"

For "Ambassador of the Year," Simon "Dybban" Lindell took top honors thanks to his tireless efforts to promote Swedish poker. Lindell received 51.2% of the vote, compared to the runner-up Jacobson's 23.2%. Other nominees were Dan Glimne, Sofia Lövgren and Ylitalo.

Finally, Swedish Poker Federation National Championship champ Emma Wikberg took the "Amateur of the Year" title with 41.8% of the vote against Kortas, who garnered 40%, and third-place finisher Magnus Pettersson, who got 18.2%.

Want to stay atop all the latest in the poker world? If so, make sure to get PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories