GPI Announces Categories for Third American Poker Awards

2 min read

The categories have been revealed for the third annual Global Poker Index American Poker Awards with a revamped selections of awards and a new sponsor.

On Feb. 23, the awards will be presented at a ceremony in Beverly Hills. New awards for 2016 winners include Tournament of the Year, Mid-Major Circuit of the Year, Twitch Streamer of the Year and Podcast of the Year. There will also be a special presentation sponsored by PocketFives, the PocketFives Legacy Award. That will go to "an online legend who has made significant contributions on the live tournament circuit," according to the GPI's announcement.

Additionally, PokerStars is stepping in as a new sponsor for the event. The American Poker Conference will be held that same afternoon, featuring the "most eminent stakeholders of the poker industry."

As in years past, the awards process begins with an open nomination period from select members of the poker world, numbering around 50 individuals. Nominations close Jan. 31 and the top four nominees will be named finalists at that time. On Feb. 23, a jury of seven selected industry experts will decide on the winners.

Here's a full list of awards to be presented:

  • GPI Player of the Year
  • GPI Female Player of the Year
  • Media Person of the Year
  • Industry Person of the Year
  • Breakout Performance of the Year
  • Tournament Performance of the Year
  • Mid-Major Circuit of the Year
  • Event of the Year
  • Charitable Initiative of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Moment of the Year
  • Media Content of the Year
  • Twitch Streamer of the Year
  • Podcast of the Year
  • PocketFives Legacy Award
  • The Hendon Mob Award
  • Jury Prize

GPI Player of the Year and Female Player of the Year will go to David Peters and Cate Hall, respectively, with those two having topped the yearly GPI rankings. Charitable Initiative of the Year will not be voted on, but "a deserving recipient(s) will be selected to receive the trophy" on awards night. The Jury Prize and the Lifetime Achievement Award "may also be presented on stage on this special evening." The Hendon Mob Award goes to the "player who accumulated the most results" in 2016.

For more information on the American Poker Awards, including how to inquire about attending or serving on a panel, check out the official website.

Here's a look at last year's winners:

GPI Player of the YearByron Kaverman
GPI Female Player of the YearKelly Minkin
Media Person of the YearDonnie Peters
Industry Person of the YearMatt Savage
Breakout Performance of the YearJosh Beckley
Tournament Performance of the YearAnthony Zinno
Event of the Year Up to $2,000WSOP The Colossus
Event of the Year Over $2,000WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown
Poker Innovation or Initiative of the YearWSOP online bracelet event
Charitable Initiative of the YearCharity Series of Poker (Matt Stout)
Poker Presenter of the YearKara Scott
Moment of the YearDaniel Negreanu 11th place in WSOP Main Event
Media Content of the YearJoe Giron photo of Negreanu in WSOP Main Event
Share this article

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Stephen Shayler Wins the DTD200 Six-Max For £20,000 Stephen Shayler Wins the DTD200 Six-Max For £20,000