Martin Zamani Wins U.S. Poker Open Finale for $666K, Named Overall Champ

Martin Zamani

The PokerGO Tour (PGT) U.S. Poker Open has a new champion after wrapping up on April 4 with Event #10: $50,000 No-Limit Hold'em, the biggest buy-in of the series that drew 37 runners for a prize pool of $1.9 million. Martin Zamani came out on top after defeating Nick Petrangelo in heads-up play to take home $666,000 and the golden eagle trophy.

The final table of the marquee finale event included Jeremy Ausmus (3rd - $296,000), who earlier finished second in Event #5: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em for $149,600 and was also looking for the overall title, all-time money leader Justin Bonomo (4th - $203,500) and Event #9: $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em champion Dan Smith (5th - $148,000).

Event #10: $50,000 No-Limit Hold'em Final Table Results

 1Martin ZamaniUnited States$666,000
 2Nick PetrangeloUnited States$444,000
 3Jeremy AusmusUnited States$296,000
 4Justin BonomoUnited States$203,500
 5Dan SmithUnited States$148,000
 6Chris BrewerUnited States$92,500

Lighting Up the PokerGO Studio

Zamani has had recent success on the high-roller circuit after making headlines last year for accusing then-all-time money leader Bryn Kenney of running a cult-like cheating stable, including a third-place finish in the earlier Event #3: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em for $130,200. The Floridian had an interesting answer when asked by a sideline reporter about how his approach differs from his elite high-stakes opponents: "I'm high."

Zamani needed the victory to win the overall U.S. Poker Open title and he was able to get it to end the series with 570 points to deny Ren Lin (465 points) and finish ahead of Sam Soverel (457 points) and Dan Smith (442 points).

In addition to earning the $50,000 championship bonus, Zamani joined Sean Winter, David Peters and Stephen Chidwick on the prestigious list of U.S. Poker Open champions.

U.S. Poker Open Leaderboard Top 10

 1Martin Zamani570
 2Ren Lin465
 3Sam Soverel457
 4Dan Smith442
 5Joey Weissman429
 6Darren Elias339
 7Chris Brewer361
 8Isaac Kempton344
 9Jeremy Ausmus328
 10Nacho Barbero303

Haxton Reaches $5 Million in 2023

The ten-event U.S. Poker Open festival saw victories from some of poker's biggest names, including Phil Hellmuth, who won Event #5: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em for $211,200 and his first U.S. Poker Open title.

Later in the series, rising star Isaac Kempton won Event #6: $15,000 Pot-Limit Omaha for $279,000 and his first victory in the PokerGO Studio after several second, third and fourth-place finishes in the past year. Meanwhile, four-time World Poker Tour (WPT) champion Darren Elias added picked up PGT title by winning Event #7: $15,000 No-Limit Hold'em for $313,200.

In Event #8: $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em, Joey Weissman was after his second series title after winning the opening $10,000 event for $231,000 but fell to Isaac Haxton, who took home $423,000 and his fourth high-roller victory of the year. Not only did Haxton win the $50,000 PokerGO Cup finale in January for $598,000, he took down two PokerStars Caribbean Adventure (PCA) High Rollers for respective scores of $1.1 million and $1.6 million.

Haxton has had several other high rollers scores this year and, as PokerGO pointed out, his victory made him the first player to reach $5 million in earnings in 2023.

The high-stakes veteran has been criticized by some for wearing an N95 mask in his recent winner's photos and took to Twitter to send a message to the haters.

Hellmuth was also after a second title but fell in fifth for $108,000, while others who made deep runs included Alex Foxen (6th - $81,000), Bill Klein (4th - $135,000) and Dan Smith (3rd - $189,000).

Event #8: $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em Final Table Results

 1Isaac HaxtonUnited States$423,000
 2Joey WeissmanUnited States$283,500
 3Dan SmithUnited States$189,000
 4Bill KleinUnited States$135,000
 5Phil HellmuthUnited States$108,000
 6Alex FoxenUnited States$81,000
 7Chris BrewerUnited States$67,500
 8Masashi OyaJapan$54,000

Smith Denies Lin

According to PokerGO updates, Smith had entered the final table of Event #8 with the chip lead before going out in third. When he entered the final table of Event #9: $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em second in chips, he was able to get the job done for $399,500.

Dan Smith
Dan Smith

Lin was yet another player looking for a second title but was denied by Smith to take home $258,500 to be the frontrunner to be the overall champion before Zamani closed out in Event #10. Meanwhile, Daniel Negreanu finished in seventh for $47,000 after earlier finishing fourth in Event #4: $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha for $77,000.

Event #9: $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em Final Table Results

 1Dan SmithUnited States$399,500
 2Ren LinUnited States$258,500
 3Brian KimUnited States$176,250
 4Cary KatzUnited States$129,250
 5Punnat PunsriThailand$94,000
 6Nick SchulmanUnited States$70,500
 7Daniel NegreanuCanada$47,000

2023 U.S. Poker Open Winners

A full list of winners at the 2023 U.S. Poker Open is available in the table below.

 Event #1: $10,000 NL Hold’em105$1,050,000Joey WeissmanUnited States$231,000
 Event #2: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em105$1,050,000Ren LinUnited States$231,000
 Event #3: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em93$930,000Sam SoverelUnited States$213,900
 Event #4: $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha77$770,000Allen LeUnited States$200,200
 Event #5: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em88$880,000Phil HellmuthUnited States$221,200
 Event #6: $15,000 Pot-Limit Omaha62$930,000Isaac KemptonUnited States$279,000
 Event #7: $15,000 No-Limit Hold'em87$1,305,000Darren EliasUnited States$313,200
 Event #8: $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em54$135,000Isaac HaxtonUnited States$423,000
 Event #9: $25,000 No-Limit Hold'em47$1,175,000Dan SmithUnited States$399,500
 Event #10: $50,000 No-Limit Hold'em37$1,850,000Martin ZamaniUnited States$666,000

Photos courtesy PokerGO

  • Martin Zamani took down the $50,000 U.S. Poker Open finale for $666,000 and the overall series title.

Name Surname
Editor & Live Reporter U.S.

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Tony Dunst Among Chip Leaders at Final Table in Record-Setting WPT Rolling Thunder Tony Dunst Among Chip Leaders at Final Table in Record-Setting WPT Rolling Thunder